Trail Way Speedway Logo 2013From Trail-Way Speedway


Hanover, PA – (April 5, 2013)Austin Hogue was the class of the field in claiming the season opener for “358” sprint cars at Trail-Way Speedway Friday night.

“I can thank our guys enough for giving me a great car,” said the Manchester driver upon exiting the BAPS Auto Paints & Supply/Livingston Lawn Care/PPG Automotive/Zirkle’s Garage #52 in victory lane, “I love racing here.  This is a great track.”

A redraw for the feature put Hogue fourth at the start.  He was already second by the end of the first lap, and drove under polesitter Jeff Rohrbaugh to grab the lead in turn two of lap three.  From there, he drove away to a 2.54-second win over Rohrbaugh.

“I knew with Jeff out front it would be tough,” said Hogue, “But this car was awesome tonight.”

Rohrbaugh was faster than everyone else to cross second, with Cris Eash, hard charger Robbie Kendall (who started ninth), and Zach Euculano completing the top five.  Sixth through tenth were defending track champ Tim Wagaman, Mike Duncan, Jr., Seth Kearchner (who running his first ever “358” sprint race), Joe Trone, Jr., and Randy Whisler rounding out the top ten.

Heat winners for the 17 “358” sprint cars were Eash and Kendall.


Two-time defending track champ Timothy Hahn took the lead from Justin Mitchell exiting turn four of lap 13 and went on to win the 20-lap street stock feature.  His final margin of victory over Mitchell was 3.16 seconds.  Third through fifth were Jeremy Stremmel (who started last), David Goode, and Joseph Racine.

Hahn and Mitchell won the heats for the 11 Street Stocks.


Scott Houdeshell of Enola was the winner of a wild 20-lap Central PA Legends feature.

He started on the pole, led the first six laps, yielded to seventh-starting Bob Stough (who led laps seven through 18), and then reclaimed the lead in turn four as the leaders were crossing under the white flag.

In all, five cars were battling for the lead over the second half of the race.

Third through fifth were Greg Martz, Bill Diehl, and Lucas Montgomery.

Heat winners for the 17 Central PA Legends were Stough and Montgomery.


Brad Kress started on the outside of the front row and led every lap of the 15-lap limited stock feature.

Cory Weishaar finished second, followed by Ryan Smith, Tom Senseney, Jr., and 22nd-starting Rod Weaver.

Heat winners for the 23 Limited Stocks were Rod Weaver, Smith, and Terry Hartlaub.


Next Friday (4/12), Trail-Way Speedway will host the 358 Sprints, Limited Stocks, 600cc micro-sprints, and thundercars.  Gates open at 5:30 p.m. and racing begins at 7:30 p.m.

The following Friday (4/19), Trail-Way Speedway will host the 358 Sprint Cars, 358 Late Models, 1000cc “Sidewinder” micro-sprints, and limited stocks.  Gates open at 5:30 p.m. and racing begins at 7:30 p.m.


For all the latest news and related information from Trail-Way Speedway, fans are reminded to visit the speedway website at www.trail-wayspeedway.com.  The complete story and agate from each race night is posted shortly after the final checkered falls.


358 Sprint Cars

Feature (25 Laps)

1. 52-Austin Hogue; 2. 45-Jeff Rohrbaugh; 3. 17E-Cris Eash; 4. 55K-Robbie Kendall; 5. 10-Zach Euculano; 6. 1-Tim Wagaman; 7. 11D-Mike Duncan, Jr.; 8. 30-Seth Kearchner; 9. 99-Joe Trone, Jr.; 10. 64-Randy Whisler; 11. 66A-Cody Fletcher; 12. 59T-Tim Stallings; 13. 33-Brad Gleason(DNF); 14. 7C-J.B. Cunningham(DNF0; DNS: 12-Mike Bittinger; 69-Shane Hoff; 1A-Jacob Allen. No Time.

Lap Leaders – Jeff Rohrbaugh (1-2), Austin Hogue (3-25).


Heat 1 (10 Laps/All to Qualify)

1. 17E-Cris Eash; 2. 52-Austin Hogue; 3. 1-Tim Wagaman; 4. 64-Randy Whisler; 5. 30-Seth Kearchner; 6. 66A-Cody Fletcher; 7. 7C-J.B. Cunningham(DNF); 8. 12-Mike Bittinger(DNF); 9. 69-Shane Hoff(DNF). No Time.


Heat 2 (10 Laps/All to Qualify)

1. 55K-Robbie Kendall; 2. 45-Jeff Rohrbaugh; 3. 59T-Tim Stallings; 4. 10-Zach Euculano; 5. 11D-Mike Duncan, Jr.; 6. 99-Joe Trone, Jr.; 7. 33-Brad Gleason; DNS: 1A-Jacob Allen. Time 2:24.44.