urc United Racing Company Logo

urc United Racing Company LogoFrom Bob Miller


A heated point battle is once again underway in chase of the 2013 Rislone URC Sprint Series Championship.   The top four drivers in the current point chase are separated by just eighty points.  Davie Franek of Wantage, NJ finished second in the 2012 URC point battle but heading to Potomac Speedway this Friday night, he’s leading the current point chase.   Franek has accumulated 928 points as  both JJ Grasso and Josh Weller are second in points with 874.   Defending URC Champion Robbie Stillwaggon  is fourth in points with 848 points as Brian Carber and Kevin Darling  sit in fifth with 765 points.   The point battle is just that close.


Friday night, July 26, the Rislone URC sprints will make their one and only visit of 2013 to the Potomac Speedway in Budds Creek, MD for their ninth event of the season.  Previous winners this season include Robbie Stillwaggon a three time winner,  JJ Grasso winner of the prestigious Jack Gunn Memorial at Selinsgrove, Art Liedl, Dave Ely, Kevin Darling and  last week’s winner Josh Weller.


Currently, the top three car owners in points have never won a URC Championship.   Dave Franek Sr, owner of the Davie Franek #28F, Kenny Eldreth owner of the JJ Grasso sprinter and Chris Weiss, owner of the Josh Weller #29 all have their eye on winning their first ever  URC Championship.


The Potomac Speedway is a three-eighth mile high banked clay oval located in Budds Creek, MD.       Gates will open on Friday night at 5 PM with warm-ups  set for 7:30 PM.   Race time is 8 PM.  The GPS address is 27963 Budds Creek Road, Mechanicsville, MD   20659