Eichelberger Wins at Hagerstown

From Hagerstown Speedway

Hagerstown, MD — (May 23, 2014) — Rich Eichelberger dominated the season’s first appearance for the Blazer’s Auto Body Super Sportsman Friday night at Hagerstown Speedway after previously winning at the track on September 9, 2010.

Eichelberger, of Dillsburg, Pa., started fourth but slid to the front row when Dave Socks jumped the initial start and was sent to the rear. Eichelberger took command and never looked back. He was into the rear of the field by the eighth lap and by the halfway mark, had more than a seven second lead and six lapped cars separating him from Rick Barr. Cautions on laps 15 and 17 closed the field and he went on to post a 1.16 second lead over Chad Criswell, who won on the previous visit of the Super Sportsman on May 25, 2013.

“I don’t really think about the lead. I just think about going fast,” Eichelberger said. “That was absolutely great. We love coming to Hagerstown. My crew knew we were good tonight. We have this new car figured out now. When it gets dry and slick, I think we have an advantage with it. When it’s wet and heavy, it’s just fair. We’re looking for dry slick race tracks.”


Blazer’s Auto Body Super Sportsman, 20 Laps: 1.Rich Eichelberger, 2.Chris Criswell, 3.Rick Barr, 4.Gregg Foster, 5.Russ Mitten, 6.Steve Fannasy, 7.Mike Enders, 8.Scott Geesey, 9.Carmen Perigo Jr., 10.Steve Wilbur, 11.Chad Trout, 12.Scott Dellinger, 13.Frankie Herr, 14.Tom Wyckoff, 15.Stan Wanner, 16.Tony Jackson, 17.Kenny Edkin, 18.Lanny Hake, 19.Todd Leonard, 20.Dave Conrad Jr., 21.Bill Devine, 22.Devin Beidel, 23.Adam Wray, 24.Brian Gontz, 25.Davey Walsh, 26.Geoff Gill, 27.Duane Smith, 28.Dave Socks, DNS – Bobby Hockenberry