R.J. Johnson wins Hank Arnold Memorial

R.J. Johnson (Serena Dalhamer photo)
R.J. Johnson (Serena Dalhamer photo)
R.J. Johnson (Serena Dalhamer photo)

From Lonnie Wheatley

Peoria, AZ — (March 28, 2015) — R.J. Johnson broke into USAC Southwest Sprint Car victory lane for the first time this year by winning Saturday night’s 30-lap Hank Arnold Memorial main event atop the 1/3-mile Canyon Speedway Park clay oval.

While Johnson bested the wingless Sprint Cars ranks, other Hank Arnold Memorial feature winners included Chris McCurdy, Jr., in Arizona Differential Pure Stocks, Colton Hardy in Micro Sprints, Adam Etcher in Mod Lites and Brian Stehr in Dwarf Cars.

Racing forward from the fifth starting position, two-time and reigning USAC Southwest Sprint Car champion Johnson outlasted defending Hank Arnold Memorial winner Stevie Sussex to take top honors in Saturday night’s feature with pole starter Josh Pelkey on the podium as well after finishing third. Matt Rossi raced from 12th fourth with Michael Colegrove rounding out the top five.

Canyon Speedway Park is back in action next Saturday night, April 4, with the East Eggstravaganza featuring the winged ASCS Southwest Sprint Cars along with Ninth World Vapor IMCA Modifieds, Arizona Differential Pure Stocks, Scottsdale Muffler & Automotive Renegades and AMA Mod Lites.

Canyon Speedway Park

Hank Arnold Memorial Results

USAC Southwest Sprint Cars:

First Heat: 1. 50-Charles Davis, Jr., 2. 12-Josh Pelkey, 3. 17-Michael Colegrove, 4. 02-Matt Rossi, 5. 16-Mike Martin, 6. 7k-Bruce St. James, 7. 11c-Michael Curtis, 8. 29-Michael Bonneau.

Second Heat: 1. 77m-R.J. Johnson, 2. 21az-Stevie Sussex, 3. 19-Andrew Reinbold, 4. 22b-Brian Hosford, 5. 13-Dennis Giles, 6. 40-Vince Perez, 7. 48T-Thomas Ogle.

Third Heat: 1. 2-Joshua Shipley, 2. 20-Shon Deskins, 3. 77-Dalten Gabbard, 4. 5-Tye Mihocko, 5. 2x-Larry Gibson, 6. 4-Jonas Reynolds, 7. 44k-Koty McGullam.

“A” Feature: 1. 77m-R.J. Johnson, 2. 21az-Stevie Sussex, 3. 12-Josh Pelkey, 4. 02-Matt Rossi, 5. 17-Michael Colegrove, 6. 20-Shon Deskins, 7. 16-Mike Martin, 8. 19-Andrew Reinbold, 9. 22b-Brian Hosford, 10. 50-Charles Davis, Jr., 11. 2-Joshua Shipley, 12. 5-Tye Mihocko, 13. 7k-Bruce St. James, 14. 13-Dennis Giles, 15. 2x-Larry Gibson, 16. 11c-Michael Curtis, 17. 40-Vince Perez, 18. 44k-Koty McGullam, 19. 77-Dalten Gabbard, 20. 29-Michael Bonneau, 21. 4-Jonas Reynolds, 22. 48T-Thomas Ogle.