Bergman wins thriller in Lubbock

SethBergmanTopStoryFrom Bryan Hulbert

Lubbock, TX — (May 15, 2015) — For the fourth time in 2015, and second time with the American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Red River Region presented by Smiley’s Racing Products, Washington’s Seth Bergman parked the Oil Field Equipment and Manufacturing No. 23 in Victory Lane; topping action at the Lubbock Speedway.

Jumping to the lead from the front row, Bergman would surrender the top spot in the opening laps to team mate, Joe Wood, Jr. Keeping the No. 23 to a half straight-a-way disadvantage for most of the race, slower traffic would be the deciding factor in Lubbock as the pair exchanged slide jobs amongst lapped cars for several laps before Seth was able to secure the lead for the finale time in the closing laps.
Fighting to retain the runner-up spot, Joe Wood, Jr. would surrender the position to John Carney II.

Joe Wood, Jr. would settle for third with Tony Bruce, Jr. working from eighth to fourth. After starting 13th, Johnny Herrera completed the top-five.

Kevin Ramey crossed sixth with Andy Shouse seventh, Chance Morton grabbed eighth with Matt Covington from 16th to finish ninth. Suffering a broken fuel pump in his Heat Race, Jake Martens clawed from 19th to complete the top-ten.

American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Red River Region presented by Smiley’s Racing Products competes next at the Lawton Speedway in Lawton, Okla. on Saturday, May 16. For continued updates on the American Sprint Car Series, log onto

Race Results:
ASCS Red River Region
Lubbock Speedway – Lubbock, Texas
Friday, May 15, 2015
Car Count: 19

Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 18-Tony Bruce Jr[1]; 2. 11-Joe Wood Jr[2]; 3. 1A-Kevin Ramey[4]; 4. 8M-Kade Morton[3]; 5. 74B-John Carney II[8]; 6. 45X-Johnny Herrera[10]; 7. 52-Blake Hahn[9]; 8. 2-Mickey Walker[7]; 9. 5M-Michael Gaydos[5]; 10. (DNF) 48-Jake Martens[6]

Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 23-Seth Bergman[4]; 2. 7M-Chance Morton[6]; 3. 22-Koby Barksdale[1]; 4. 4X-Shawn Petersen[3]; 5. 27-Andy Shouse[9]; 6. 12-James Mosher[7]; 7. 6-Kaden Taylor[5]; 8. 16-Cory Riley[2]; 9. (DNF) 95-Matt Covington[8]

A Feature (25 Laps): 1. 23-Seth Bergman[1]; 2. 74B-John Carney II[5]; 3. 11-Joe Wood Jr[2]; 4. 18-Tony Bruce Jr[8]; 5. 45X-Johnny Herrera[13]; 6. 1A-Kevin Ramey[4]; 7. 27-Andy Shouse[3]; 8. 7M-Chance Morton[6]; 9. 95-Matt Covington[16]; 10. 48-Jake Martens[19]; 11. 22-Koby Barksdale[7]; 12. 4X-Shawn Petersen[10]; 13. 16-Cory Riley[17]; 14. 12-James Mosher[11]; 15. 2-Mickey Walker[15]; 16. 8M-Kade Morton[9]; 17. 6-Kaden Taylor[14]; 18. 5M-Michael Gaydos[18]; 19. (DNF) 52-Blake Hahn[12]

Season so Far:
Winner(s): Seth Bergman 2; Johnny Herrera 1; Aaron Reutzel 1;
Driver Standings (Top 10) 1. Johnny Herrera 532; 2. Seth Bergman 507; 3. Kevin Ramey 504; 4. Tony Bruce, Jr. 471; 5. Blake Hahn 461; 6. Andy Shouse 461; 7. Matt Covington 452; 8. Kade Morton 427; 9. Joe Wood, Jr. 425; 10. Shawn Petersen 416;