Two Events For IRA This Week

IRA Interstate Racing Association Top Story

From Gared Tennyson
ira interstate racing association logo
Saturday July 1st the series returns to Wilmot Raceway, then on Sunday July 2nd they head to 141 Speedway.

Saturday the IRA returns to its birth place, the Wilmot Raceway. The series was last there on June 10th, when fans saw history as Matt Vandervere scored his first career victory after holding off Bill Balog on multiple restarts. Vandervere will surely be a fan favorite to pick up another win this Saturday night but to do so he will have to once again beat Balog who has proven to be tough to beat any time he rolls onto a track. Jeremy Schultz has to be another driver to keep your eyes on as he has been the Wilmot track champion 3 of the last 4 years but he is still looking for his first win of 2017.

Sunday the series heads north to Francis Creek Wisconsin and the 141 Speedway for what is sure to be a huge show for any fan of open wheel racing. The Bumper to Bumper IRA 410 sprint cars will be joined by not one, but both of the IRA’s other divisions, the Wisconsin WingLESS Sprints and the Wisconsin Illinois Mini Sprints. Fans will be treated to a 3 division night of open wheel racing around one of the most unique tracks in the midwest. If three divisions of IRA Sprints wasn’t enough, Sunday is also night 4 of the Hopf Farms Bullring Showdown. Night 3 saw Kyle Marten score a win and move him within striking distance of the Showdown points lead.
IRA Points as of 6/18
B. Balog(17B) – 1458
S. Thiel(64) – 1396
J. Schultz(5J) – 1324
S. Neitzel(2W) – 1313
K. Marten(99) – 1274

Hopf Farms Bullring Showdown Points
J. Schultz(5J) – 63
M. Reinke(02) – 60
M. Kertscher(80K) – 60
K. Marten(99) – 58
S. Thiel(64) – 56

The last time the Wisconsin Illinois Mini Sprints ran, it was at Beaver Dam Raceway with the World of Outlaws. After a night prolonged by rain, Nick Daywalt stood victorious over Mark Heinert and Mike Neau. This would be Nick Daywalt’s 3rd win of the season. Mark Heinert and CJ Malueg each have one win a piece on the season.
WIMS Points as of 6/24
N. Daywalt(66) – 484
M. Heinert(55H) – 459
K. Daywalt(11) – 431
A. Schroeder(42) – 421
CJ Malueg(13) – 408

The Wisconsin WingLESS Series presented by the IRA last ran on June 10, where Jordan Mattson picked up the win. Tim Cox ran 2nd and Doug Schenck rounded out the podium. In WingLESS competition 5 drivers have wins in 2017. Tim Cox has 2 wins, and Jordan Mattson, Doug Schenck, Allen Hafford and Derek Crane all have 1 win each.
WingLESS Points as of 6/10
J. Mattson(2) – 885
T. Cox(48) – 833
D. Schenck(71S) – 806
A. Hafford(38) – 715
D. Crane(91) – 699