Layton Wins Tommy Classic at Williams Grove

From Williams Grove Speedway

MEHANICSBURG, PA — Persistence paid off for Chad Layton with a $6000 victory in the Tommy Classic for sprint cars Friday night at Williams Grove Speedway. Adam Wilt started on the pole for the 30-lap main event and set the early pace before Layton, who started second, took the lead at the start/finish line on lap five. Stevie Smith started fourth and entered the picture on lap six when he took third place from Tim Shaffer. On the next circuit Shaffer went by Smith and Wilt to take the runner up spot. Smith was glued to the outside guard rail while the other front runners used the inside lane. On lap nine Smith drove by Shaffer and began to pressure the leader. He moved by Layton on lap eleven and appeared to be headed for his second win of the season at Williams Grove. But Layton wasn’t ready to concede. Smith opened a comfortable lead through the middle stages of the race by continuing to use the outside lane. By lap 23, however, Layton was closing fast. Layton drove by Smith on the inside exiting turn four on lap 25, but the race was a long way from being over. Layton, Smith and Shaffer ran under a blanket with the runnerup spot changing hands several times before Smith finally emerged with it on lap 29. Layton went on to win by a car length. It was his sixth career victory at Williams Grove and his first since 2008. Smith settled for second ahead of Tim Shaffer and Fred Rahmer, who started 17th. Doug Esh completed the top five. Brian Montieth, Alan Krimes, Brad Sweet, Tyler Walker and Greg Hodnett finished in positions six through ten respectively. Hodnett, who started 24th, maintained his lead in the Lawrence Chevrolet point standings. Brian Leppo set fast time in qualifications with a lap of 17.940. Heats for the 38 cars in competition were won by Tim Shaffer, Walker, Lance Dewease and Rahmer. Alan Krimes won the B-main. The race was named to honor the memory of Hall of Fame sprint car driver Tommy Hinnershitz.

Williams Grove Speedway Feature Finish – April 23, 2010 Sprint Car Feature – 30 laps – 1. Chad Layton, 2. Stevie Smith, 3. Tim Shaffer, 4. Fred Rahmer, 5. Doug Esh, 6. Brian Montieth, 7. Alan Krimes, 8. Brad Sweet. 9. Tyler Walker, 10. Greg Hodnett, 11. Mark Smith, 12. Adam Wilt, 13. Steve Buckwalter, 14. T. J. Stutts, 15. Dave Ely, 16. Don Kreitz, Jr., 17. Curt Michael, 18. Danny Dietrich, 19. Justin Henderson, 20. Jim Siegel, 21. Aaron Ott, 22. Lance Dewease, 23. Todd Shaffer, 24. Doug Dodson DNQ: Brian Leppo, David Gravel, Daryn Pittman, Cory Haas, Johnny Mackison, Jr., Kyle Moody, Chris Meleason, Mark Coldren, Derek Sell, A. J. Michael, Brent Marks, Pat Cannon, Troy Fraker, Rick Lafferty