NCRA Sprints Back in Action Memorial Monday Night

National Championship Racing Association

From David Smith Jr.

Midwest City, Oklahoma – May 23, 2010 – It is back to action for the O’Reilly/NCRA sprint car division as the series will make their return trip to the home of the series, 81 Speedway in Park City, Kansas on Memorial Day Monday night, May 31st.

In the division opener it was current points leader Sherman Davis of Sand Springs, Oklahoma picking up the wire to wire victory to come away with the early season points lead. Jeremy Campbell of Michigan, new driver of the Danny King owned #E85 Ethanol sprinter is currently tied for the runner up position in the point standings with Brodix rookie of the year contender Trevor Grossenbacher of Holland, Nebraska and Goddard, Kansas driver J. D. Johnson.

The remaining top ten in points are Aaron Berryhill, Mike Peters, Jason Donley, Gavin Punch, Jason Martin and Patrick Stasa. Five-time and defending O’Reilly/NCRA sprint car champion Garry Lee Maier currently sits eleventh in the point standings, sixty points out of the lead.

Twenty-six drivers took part in the series opener back in April and with the top sprint car drivers in the region coming off two nights of the second annual Steve King Memorial at the Jetmore Motorplex in Jetmore, Kansas the Saturday and Sunday night prior, the car count could swell to over thirty cars. Last year it was Jason Johnson holding off Danny Wood to take the Memorial Day victory.

In the past six O’Reilly/NCRA sprint car events held at 81 Speedway there have been six different drivers reaching victory lane. They include Davis, Jack Dover, Mike Peters, Zach Chappell, Jason Johnson and Tony Bruce, Jr. Will it be seven for seven or will one of the drivers mentioned above become a repeat victor?

Gates will open at 5:00 PM with racing action set for 7:00 PM sharp. 81 Speedway is located North of Wichita on I-135 to exit 16, then .7 mile west on 77th St. For more race and ticket information contact the 81 Speedway office (316) 755-1781.

The 2010 race season is the 40th Anniversary season for the O’Reilly Auto Parts National Championship Racing Association and sanctions five divisions, including late models, sprint cars, modified north, modified south and southern modifieds throughout the Great Plains region in the following states: Nebraska, Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Oklahoma and Texas. To find out more on the series, check out their website For other inquiries on the series and any one of their five divisions, contact the office (316) 755-1781.

Officials with the O’Reilly/NCRA would like to welcome the following for their partnership with the sprint car division for the 2010 race season:

OFFICIAL SPONSORS: O’Reilly Auto Parts, Hoosier Racing Tire and Sunoco Race Fuels.

CONTINGENCY SPONSORS: Arizona Race Shirts, Airflow Racing Products, Brodix Cylinder Heads, Hooker Harness, Kiezer Racing Wheels, Pro Shocks, Racing Optics, Rod End Supply, Saldana Race Products, Schoenfeld Headers, Super Shox, Taylor Cable Products, The Joie of Seating, Ultra Shield, Vertex Magnetos and Winters Performance Products.

Current 2010 O’Reilly/NCRA Sprint Car Point Standings

1 72X Sherman Davis 300

2 E85 Jeremy Campbell 285

3 98 J.D. Johnson 285

4 35 Trevor Grossenbacher 285

5 97 Aaron Berryhill 265

6 51 Mike Peters 260

7 82 Jason Donley 260

8 81au Gavin Punch 255

9 36 Jason Martin 255

10 19 Patrick Stasa 250