Zimmerman Takes Butler Win

Butler Motor Speedway Butler Speedway logo

From Jim Fisher

Doug Zimmerman drove to victory during Spring Championships at Butler (Mi.) Speedway on Saturday.
Zimmerman’s victory came after a tough outing a week earlier, where the Montgomery driver was leading near the end
of the feature, only to see the win snatched away. Zimmerman is a second-generation driver at the speedway, son of
1960s legend Larry Zimmerman.
Ryan Kirkendall and Aaron Smith made up the front row for the 25-lap winged sprint feature. Smith was involved in
an opening lap mishap and retired from the event, while Kirkendall would lead the opening laps of the race.
Nine-time track champ Ken Mackey darted under on lap 2 with Zimmerman also getting past, and the duo began to wage
a torried battle for the lead.
Using the high groove, Zimmerman got past Mackey at one point, only to see a caution flag nullify the pass. Mackey
sped away on the race restart, but late in the race Zimmerman gathered him in and swept around the outside of turn
2 for the lead. Mackey would hold second at the finish.
Following Zimmerman and Mackey at the checker were John Gall, Shelby Bilton, and Sean Robinson. The rest of the
top 10 were Rocky LoPresto, Aaron Smith, Gerry Hart, Mark Broughman, and Chad Hart. Sprint car heat races were won
by Mackey, Bilton, and Smith.

Butler Speedway Results — May 29, 2010
Winged Sprints
Feature: 1. 19 Doug Zimmerman, 2. 25m Ken Mackey, 3. 81 John Gall, 4. 27 Shelby Bilton, 5. 1 Sean Robinson, 6. 57x
Rocky LoPresto, 7. 38 Aaron Smith, 8. 39 Gerry Hart, 9. 52 Mark Broughman, 10. 39jr Chad Hart, 11. 27k Ryan
Kirkendall, 12. 12b Mike Baker, 13. 27s Scott Hasen, 14. 44 Tom Davies, 15. 29s Marques Huffer, 16. 4 Josh Turner,
DNS — 1a Mark Aldrich, 11 Dan Hall, 23 Chris Jones
Heat Winners: Shelby Bilton, Aaron Smith, Ken Mackey