From Bloomington Speedway

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. – Bloomington Speedway delivered another exciting night of thunderous racing at the 22nd Annual Sheldon Kinser Memorial and JD Byrider Night on Friday, May 28.

The event featured the Grimes Pools & Spas Sprint Cars and the O’Neal Wood Products UMP Modifieds. Jon Stanbrough won the 40-lap Grimes Pools & Spas Sprint Car feature race, while Clint Demoss took the checkered flag in the O’Neal Wood Products UMP Modified feature.

Stanbrough of Avon, Ind., took home a $3,000 pay check from the event that honored the late Sheldon Kinser. Kinser, of Bloomington Ind., was an accomplished short track racer who made several starts in the Indianapolis 500 with a best finish of sixth in 1981. Kinser, who won 13 times at Bloomington Speedway, lost his life to cancer in 1988.

Stanbrough came up with the lead near the end of the Grimes Pools & Spas Sprint Car feature after battling with Jon Sciscoe, of Bloomington Ind., Brady Short, of Bedford Ind., and Bobby East, of Brownsburg Ind. Stanbrough pulled away from the pack only to see his lead evaporate after a late race caution flag. After the green flag fell for the final time, he was able to defend his lead in a two lap shootout to the finish.

DeMoss, of Bloomington Ind., started from the pole position in the O’Neal Wood Products UMP Modified feature race and led every lap to get the win. After a late race restart, DeMoss held off Shelby Miles of Bloomington Ind., who had charged from last place to second place to challenge for the win. DeMoss is the current points leader in the O’Neal Wood Products UMP Modifieds heading into the next event.

The next night of racing at Bloomington Speedway is KIVA Night on Friday, June 11. The event will feature the Grimes Pools & Spas Sprint Cars, the Tire and Wheel Center UMP Indiana Super Stocks, and the O’Neal Wood Products UMP Modifieds. Gates open at 5:30 p.m., hot laps at 6:30 p.m., with racing starting at 7:30 p.m. General admission tickets are $12 for adults, and kids 12 and under are always FREE general admission with a paying adult.


Grimes Pools & Spas Sprint Cars

Heat 1 Winner: Ty Deckard

Heat 2 Winner: Bub Cummins

Heat 3 Winner: Jon Sciscoe

Heat 4 Winner: Jesse Cramer

“B Main” Winner: Shane Cottle

Feature: 1.) Jon Stanbrough; 2.) Jon Sciscoe; 3.) Brady Short; 4.) Bobby East; 5.) Jeff Bland Jr.; 6.) Andrew Elson; 7.) Hunter Schuerenberg; 8.) Dickie Gaines; 9.) Ty Deckard; 10.) Josh Cunningham; 11.) Bub Cummings; 12.) Jesse Cramer; 13.) Bobby Stines; 14.) Chris Babcock; 15.) Joshua Clemons; 16.) Jordan Kinser; 17.) Shane Cottle; 18.) Dakota Jackson; 19.) Jonathan Vennard; 20.) Kurt Gross

O’Neal Wood Products UMP Modifieds

Heat 1 Winner: Greg Amick

Heat 2 Winner: Matt Bex

Feature: 1.) Clint DeMoss; 2.) Shelby Miles; 3.) Greg Amick; 4.) Brandon Short; 5.) Bennie Smith Jr.; 6.) Bradley Sterrett; 7.) Michael Purtlebaugh; 8.) Larry Lambert; 9.) Brad Barrow; 10.) Chad Combs; 11.) David Lawson; 12.) Mike Bechelli; 13.) Matt Bex; 14.) Chad Sterrett; 15.) Chad Crosby; 16.) Josh Harris