By Scott Daloisio

(JUNE 8, 2010, PERRIS, CA) The competitive Amsoil USAC/CRA Sprint Car Series returns to Perris Auto Speedway this Saturday night, June 12th. Saturday’s race will be the eighth in the series this year and thus far there have been seven different winners. Joining the USAC/CRA stars and cars on the program will be the California Lightning Sprint Cars and the gorgeous WRA Vintage Cars. Spectator gates will open at 5:00 PM and the first race will be at 7:00.

Heading into this weekend’s event, only Concord’s Damion Gardner, who has two wins, has more than one victory in the seven year old series in 2010. Illinois native Levi Jones, the current USAC Nationals Series point leader, Temecula’s Mike Spencer, Greg Bragg of Visalia, Riverside’s David Cardey and Blake Miller who resides in Yorba Linda have one win each. Two weeks ago Cardey won at The PAS on Saturday night while Miller scored his initial win of the campaign 24 hours later in Tulare.

Spencer, the two time defending series champion and the current point leader, is the only driver in the top five in the standings with a win in 2010. Santa Maria’s “Showtime” Danny Sheridan, Yorba Linda’s Matt Mitchell, 2002 VRA champion Jimmy Crawford from Newbury Park and 2006 USAC/CRA champ Cory Kruseman of Ventura round out the top five and all are looking for their first USAC/CRA triumph of the season.

Spencer had a sizable lead in the championship chase until his violent flip at The PAS on April 10th. Heading into this week’s race, he holds a precarious 14-point lead over Sheridan in the standings. The top six in the standings are separated by less than 100-points (you can see the top in points at the end of this release).

Joining the USAC/CRA Series on Saturday will be the California Lightning Sprint Cars. Ramona’s Bobby Bender picked up his fourth win of the season last Saturday at the Ventura Raceway when he beat younger brother A.J. and El Cajon’s Peter Benker to the checkered flag. Placentia’s Dan Hillberg won his first ever A main event in more than 30 years of racing when the Lightning Sprints last appeared at The PAS two weeks ago.

Rounding out Saturday’s show will be the beautiful WRA Vintage Cars. Fans will be able to enjoy racing’s past with the sights and sounds of Midgets, Sprint Cars and Jalopies dating back to the 1930s.

Attached to this release is a photo of Austin Williams of Yorba Linda racing inside Jimmy Crawford of Newbury Park and Nic Faas of Huntington Beach. Please feel free to publish the photo and please give photo credit to K.C. Rooney.

You can keep up with all of the latest news from Perris Auto Speedway on Twitter at:

For more information call The PAS at: (951) 940-0134.

Perris Auto Speedway is located on the Lake Perris Fairgrounds (home of October’s Southern California Fair), approximately one hour east of Los Angeles and one hour North of San Diego. To get to the track, take the 215 freeway, exit on the Ramona Expressway and go three miles east to the fairgrounds.

Video and DVD productions of all racing events at Perris Auto Speedway are available from Jeff Kristensen’s Raceway Video. For more information on these productions you can call: (818) 618-9764 or visit the web site at:

Perris Auto Speedway is on the Lake Perris Fairgrounds (home of the Southern California Fair), approximately one hour east of Los Angeles and one hour North of San Diego. To get to the track, take the 215 freeway, exit on the Ramona Expressway and go two miles east to the fairgrounds. is the only authorized Internet address to issue official media news released from The Perris Auto Speedway or Oval Entertainment

Amsoil USAC/CRA Point Standings

1. Mike Spencer – Temecula, CA – 329
2. Danny Sheridan – Santa Maria, CA – 315
3. Matt Mitchell – Yorba Linda, CA – 251
4. Jimmy Crawford – Newbury Park, CA – 251
5. Cory Kruseman – Ventura, CA – 239
6. Blake Miller – Yorba Linda, CA – 232
7. Tony Jones – Norco, CA – 213
8. Damion Gardner – Concord, CA – 187
9. Greg Bragg – Visalia, CA – 178
10. David Cardey – Riverside, CA – 173