Father’s Day NCRA and Steve King Foundation Night This Saturday

National Championship Racing Association

By David Smith Jr.

June 13, 2010 – Midwest City, Oklahoma – After taking a week off, it is back to action for the O’Reilly/NCRA sprint car division as the tour makes their third appearance of the season at 81 Speedway in Park City, Kansas. But this is not just another sprint show on just another race date. It is, in fact, the annual Steve King Foundation night that just so happens on Father’s Day. It will be a full day of activities including the annual motorcycle “Fun Run,” a special rib dinner, special Steve King Foundation fund raising events and sprint car racing climaxing a long Father’s Day of activities.

But with this important day for the racing community, let’s not forget that a very tights point battle takes place as well.

Series sprint car rookie contender Trevor Grossenbacher of Lincoln, Nebraska is the current points leader for the series sprint car division by a mere five points over five time and defending champion Garry Lee Maier of Cimarron, Kansas. Aaron Berryhill (Broken Arrow, Oklahoma) and Jeremy Campbell are just ten points out of the top spot with J.D. Johnson sitting fifth in the standings and forty points back.

Other series regulars expected to compete and all who have made all three scheduled shows thus far during the 2010 race season include Gavin Punch (Collinsville, Oklahoma), rookie contender Jordan Whitehead (Wichita), former series champion Mike Peters (Wichita), Luke Cranston (Ness City, Kansas), Sherman Davis (Sand Springs, Oklahoma), Jon Freeman (Salina, Kansas), A. J. Selenke (Wichita) and rookie contender Kirby Robe (Wichita).

Not only will drivers be battling for points but the quest to become yet another different feature winner on the young season as Maier, Jason Johnson and Davis have all took home victories thus far in 2010. In fact, in the last five series events held at 81 Speedway there have been five different victory lane drivers and seven of the last eight events with different winners at the speedway. Among them include Jason Johnson (2), Davis, Jack Dover, Peters, Zach Chappell, Tony Bruce, Jr. and Brian Brown.

Gates at the speedway open at 5:00 PM with racing at 7:00 PM. General admission is just $9 for ages 11 and up, $5 for children 6-12.

81 Speedway is located North of Wichita on I-135 to exit 16, then .7 mile west on 77th St. For more race and ticket information contact the 81 Speedway office (316) 755-1781.

The 2010 race season is the 40th Anniversary season for the O’Reilly Auto Parts National Championship Racing Association and sanctions five divisions, including late models, sprint cars, modified north, modified south and southern modifieds throughout the Great Plains region in the following states: Nebraska, Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Oklahoma and Texas. To find out more on the series, check out their website www.ncraracing.org. For other inquiries on the series and any one of their five divisions, contact the office (316) 755-1781.

Officials with the O’Reilly/NCRA would like to welcome the following for their partnership with the sprint car division for the 2010 race season:

OFFICIAL SPONSORS: O’Reilly Auto Parts, Hoosier Racing Tire and Sunoco Race Fuels.

CONTINGENCY SPONSORS: Arizona Race Shirts, Airflow Racing Products, Brodix Cylinder Heads, Hooker Harness, Kiezer Racing Wheels, Pro Shocks, Racing Optics, Rod End Supply, Saldana Race Products, Schoenfeld Headers, Super Shox, Taylor Cable Products, The Joie of Seating, Ultra Shield, Vertex Magnetos and Winters Performance Products.

Sunday’s Steve King Foundation Agenda

4th Annual Steve King Foundation motorcycle “Fun Run” organizing at the speedway at 10:30 AM. Cost is $20 (one or two riders) and includes free hot dogs, admission to the nights sprint car race and door prizes. The “Fun Run” will leave 81 Speedway at 11:30 AM and head to the Cosmosphere in Hutchinson. An hour long tour of the museum (cost is $7.50 per person) and then head back to 81 Speedway. For more information contact Warren Hardy (316) 755-1781. All proceeds will be donated.

A special $10 per person rib dinner will take place at the speedway a couple hours before race time while they last with proceeds going to the Foundation.

Special 50/50 tickets on sale with half going to those who contribute with the other half going to the Foundation.

The new 2010 NCRA and 81 Speedway design shirts will be available at the Fan Wear trailer with $5 of each shirt purchased also going to the Foundation as well.

Current 2010 O’Reilly/NCRA sprint car point standings

1 Trevor Grossenbacher 820

2 Garry Lee Maier 815

3 Aaron Berryhill 810

4 Jeremy Campbell 810

5 J.D. Johnson 770

6 Gavin Punch 710

7 Jordan Whitehead 695

8 Mike Peters 675

9 Luke Cranston 665

10 Sherman Davis 640