Hutch Nationals Await NCRA Sprints This Weekend

National Championship Racing Association

From David Smith, Jr.

Midwest City, Oklahoma – June 28, 2010 – One of the most prestigious events on the O’Reilly/NCRA sprint car tour is the “Grand Daddy” of them all, the Hutchinson Grand Nationals. Well it is that time of year once again as the tour heads to the Kansas State Fairgrounds in Hutchinson, Kansas for the 54th annual event this coming Friday and Saturday night for two complete race programs. And with it also will come continuation of yet another tight points battle for the series championship.

Jeremy Campbell, who now calls Wichita, Kansas “home” is the current points leader coming into the weekend but with a slim 10 point advantage over Goddard, Kansas driver J.D. Johnson. Five-time and defending series champion and four-time and defending Hutch Nationals champion Garry Lee Maier of Cimarron, Kansas is currently third in the point standings, just 15 points out of first place.

Not to be out done, Broken Arrow, Oklahoma veteran Aaron Berryhill is just a mere twenty points out of the top spot while leading rookie of the year contender Trevor Grossenbacher of Lincoln, Nebraska is fifth in the point standings and fifty points out of the lead.

Other top ten tour regulars who are also expected to compete during the two day Nationals weekend include 2008 series champion Mike Peters (Wichita), 2007 Hutch Nationals winner Jon Freeman (Salina), Gavin Punch (Collinsville, Oklahoma), Sherman Davis (Sand Springs, Oklahoma), Jason Martin (Liberal) , Luke Cranston (), A.J. Selenke (Wichita) and Kirby Robe (Wichita).

Both Friday and Saturday nights feature finales will pay $2000 to win and $350 to start the twenty car field.

Maier took home his fourth career Hutch Nationals victory last year as he held off Berryhill. While it was yet another victory for himself, it was the first for Ochs Brothers, owners of the famed #1x based out of Jetmore.

Thus far in 2010 through four events, four different drivers have reached victory lane. They include Jason Martin, Garry Lee Maier, Jason Johnson and Sherman Davis

It all kicks off this coming Friday night with pit pates opening at 5:30 PM with racing at 7:30 PM and will be run as a complete show. The top five (5) finishers in the feature finale will start inside the first five rows for Saturday night’s championship finale. Then on Championship Saturday night, another complete program of qualifying heats and consolation events will be run to round out the field for the 54th annual Hutchinson Nationals. The top five drivers from Friday night, who were already locked into the inside five rows for Saturday nights feature finale, cannot lose their starting positions unless they better their starting position in the nights qualifying races.

The Kansas State Fairgrounds in Hutchinson is located west of SR 61 on 17th Ave., then north on Poplar. For more information call the NCRA office (316) 755-1781.

Below is all the important information that you need to know for both nights this year’s 54th annual Hutchinson Grand Nationals including times, tickets and agenda:

FRIDAY: July 2: Gates Open: 5:30pm – Race Time: 7:30pm
DIVISIONS: O’Reilly/NCRA Sprint Car Series, O’Reilly/NCRA Modified North Series, AAA Modified, Street Stock, Thumper, Hornets
Complete program for all divisions including qualifying heat races and feature events. The feature event for the AAA Modified, Thumper & Hornet division will determine the 54th Ann. Hutchinson Grand National Champion in those divisions. The top (5) finishing cars in the feature event of the O’Reilly/NCRA Modified, O’Reilly/NCRA Sprint Car and Street Stock will fill the inside of rows 1-2-3-4-5 of Saturday night’s Championship event.
Ticket Prices: Combo Rod Run & Race Package: Adult: $15.00

Race Ticket Only: Adult: $12.00 $5.00 Children 6-10
Rod Run Only: Adult: $7.00 $3.00 Children 6-10
Friday’s 3rd Annual Hutchinson Rockin’ Rollin’ Rod Run Schedule
Gates Open: 12 (Noon) Sock Hop Featuring King Midas: 9pm

SATURDAY: July 3 Gates Open: 5:30pm Opening Ceremonies: 6:15pm (approx.) Race Time: 7:30pm
DIVISIONS: O’Reilly/NCRA Sprint Car Series, O’Reilly/NCRA Modified North Series, O’Reilly/NCRA Sport Mod Series, Street Stock, Kansas Antique Racers
Complete program including qualifying heat races, consolation and Championship Features. (Top 5 finishing/passing point cars from qualifying heat races in the O’Reilly/NCRA Modified Series, O’Reilly/NCRA Sprint Car Series and Street Stock will fill the outside position of rows 1-2-3-4-5 of the Championship event. (Cars that qualified on Friday night cannot lose the starting position from Friday night unless they better their starting position in Saturday night’s qualifying heat race)
Ticket Prices: Combo Rod Run & Race Package: Adult: $15.00
Race Ticket Only: Adult: $12.00 $5.00 Children 6-10
Rod Run Only: Adult: $7.00 $3.00 Children 6-10
Saturday’s 3rd Annual Hutchinson Rockin’ Rollin’ Rod Run Schedule
Gates Open: 10am Dance Featuring “Rain” 9pm

Past NCRA Sprint Car Hutchinson Grand Nationals winners:

2009 – Gary Lee Maier, 2008 – Mike Chadd, 2007 – Jon Freeman, 2006 – J.D. Johnson, 2005 – Derek Drown, 2004 – Steve King, 2003 – C.J. Johnson, 2002 – C.J. Johnson, 2001 – Dennis Park, 2000 – C.J. Johnson, 1999 – Clay Bontrager, 1998 – Shelby Stenson, 1997 – Mike Peters, 1996 – Danny Jennings, 1995 – Clay Bontrager, 1994 – Mike Peters, 1993 – Scott Brown, 1992 – Garry Lee Maier, 1991 – Garry Lee Maier, 1990 – Garry Lee Maier

Current O’Reilly/NCRA Sprint Car point standings:

Rank Driver Starts A-Wins

1 Jeremy Campbell 4 0

2 J.D. Johnson 4 0

3 Garry Lee Maier 4 1

4 Aaron Berryhill 4 0

5 Trevor Grossenbacher 4 0

6 Mike Peters 4 0

7 Jon Freeman 4 0

8 Jordan Whitehead 4 0

9 Gavin Punch 4 0

10 Sherman Davis 4 1

The series would like to thank the following for their partnership with the O’Reilly/NCRA sprint car series for the 2010 race season.

2010 NCRA sprint car sponsors: O’Reilly Auto Parts, Hoosier Race Tires, Sunoco Race Fuels

2010 NCRA sprint car contingency partners: Arizona Sports Shirts, Airflow Racing Products, Brodix Cylinder Heads, Hooker Harness, Keizer Racing Wheels, Pro Shocks, Racing Optics, Rod End Supply, Saldana Racing Products, Schoenfeld Headers, Super Shox, Taylor Cable Products, The Joie of Seating, Ultra-Shield Race Products, Vertex Magnetos and Winters Performance Parts.