Zimmerman Wins at Butler

From Jim Fisher

Doug Zimmerman is a man on a mission this season at Butler Speedway. Zimmerman used another high-side pass to
become the first repeat winner of the season in the winged sprints at Butler (Mi.) Speedway. Other feature
checkers went to Chance Hoppes (UMP Modifieds), Logan Beckwith (Sportsman), and Jarrett Rendel (Street

Zimmerman started inside the front row for the winged sprint feature, but it was 71-year-old Gerry Hart that
would lead in the early going from a starting spot on the outside of row 1. Hart, running his best race of the
season, would lead the opening three laps. Zimmerman would streak around the outside of Hart in turns 3 and 4
and never relinquished the lead the rest of the way, despite an extremely close call on lap 6 when he bounced
off the turn 4 wall avoiding a lapped car.

Hart and Mackey spent much of the race in a battle for second. Mackey finally was able to get by late in the
race and had his chance at Zimmerman when a caution bunched the field in the late going. But Zimmerman was
able to hold Mackey at bay and recorded his third feature victory of the season. Mackey was second, with Hart
third, Shelby Bilton fourth, and last week’s winner Mark Aldrich placing fifth. The rest of the top 10 were
Brad Wickham, Greg Wheeler, Ken Quimby, Dan Hall, and Mike Koss. Heat races in the winged sprints were won by
Mackey, Zimmerman, and Dan Hall.

Butler Speedway Results — July 10, 2010
Winged Sprints
Feature: 1. 19 Doug Zimmerman, 2. 25m Ken Mackey, 3. 39 Gery Hart, 4. 27 Shelby Bilton, 5. 1a Mark Aldrich, 6.
6 Brad Wickham, 7. 48 Greg Wheeler, 8. 9q Ken Quimby, 9. 11 Dan Hall, 10. 57x Mike Koss, 11. 44 Tom Davies,
12. 39jr Chad Hart, 13. 9e Tim Evilsizer, 14. 31j Bill Jacoby, 15. 23j Chris Jones, 16. 29 Daryl Shaffer, 17.
12b Mike Baker, 18. 50b Mike Burns, 19. 52 Mark Broughman, 20. 27s Scott Hasen, 21. 27k Ryan Kirkendall
Heat Winners: Ken Mackey, Doug Zimmerman, Dan Hall