mscs midwest sprint car series

From Eldon Butcher

(Haubstadt, IN, July 28, 2010) Come early or reserve a seat! Racing at the Tri-State Speedway this Saturday night will take on an added dimension. The Hoosier Tire Midwest Sprint Car Series will be in action. The race being presented is the sixth annual Hoosier Sprint Nationals. The main event will be a 40 lap feature paying $5,000 to the winner. Competitors from throughout the Midwest and beyond are expected to match skills with the best open wheel drivers the Hoosier state has to offer. The combination will have the stands rocking with anticipation and excitement.

Hold on to your seats! The action begins with hot laps at 6:30 P.M. Racing begins at 7:30 with qualifying heats to earn starting spots up front in the feature. Then a B-Main and C-Main (if necessary) will be held to allow drivers one or two last chance opportunities to make the 21 car starting field for the feature. Following all this action around the quarter mile oval always creates waves of excitement that flow across the crowd in the stands. Heads turn, necks strain, and knees react with involuntary spring like precision. It will be non stop action until the final wave of the checkered flag.

The Hoosier Sprint Nationals Title will be decided in one evening. There is no tomorrow or next week! It is not a 2 or 3 day show. It will not play out over a week. Every move that drivers make will be calculated knowing that the end result will be immediate. Track conditions will change. Some drivers will take their car up high against the cushion and others will check out the middle groove or drop down to the inside looking for the fastest line. At times cars will be three wide. Slide jobs will add to the excitement and lapped traffic can become a factor. Sprint car racing continues in a role of having become one of the most extreme forms of motorsports entertainment.

The Midwest Sprint Car Series has sanctioned every Hoosier Sprint Nationals event. This continued involvement assures the presence of drivers active in the series and competing for season points. The four events held previously have produced 4 different winners. Veteran driver Kevin Briscoe won the very first Hoosier Sprint Nationals held in 2005. Daron Clayton, Hunter Schuerenberg, and Brady Short picked up the wins in subsequent years as their respective careers took a leap forward. Mother Nature won out last year in the form of unwelcome rain. This year’s race could produce its first repeat winner, a fifth different winner from the ranks of MSCS licensed drivers, or a new face in a surprising finish. Unlicensed drivers and first-time competitors can purchase a license or a permit upon arriving at the track.

MSCS points leader Chase Stockon leads a list of top MSCS drivers expected. Blake Fitzpatrick, the current points runner-up, won the last sprint car race held at Tri-State Speedway two weeks ago. Three time champion Kyle Cummins has a second and fourth place finish in prior Hoosier Sprint Nationals. Half of the top 30 in MSCS points have won MSCS features and capable of doing so again on a given night!

For additional or more detailed information please visit or Adult tickets for this event are priced at $20. Student tickets are $15. Children 12 and under will be admitted free. Admission to the pits is $30. However the pit area is restricted and no-one under the age of 14 can enter the pits.