Aesthetic Finishers presents the 2nd Annual Jack Hewitt Classic at Waynesfield Raceway Park this Saturday August 7th

Waynesfield Raceway park Logo
Waynesfield Raceway park Logo

by Gerry Keysor


August 2, 2010

Waynesfield Raceway Park will be the place to be this Saturday night August 7th as Aesthetic Finishers presents the 2nd Annual Jack Hewitt Classic, featuring the Lee’s Hydraulics Non Wing Sprint cars co-sanctioned by the Lane Automotive Michigan Traditional Sprints in a $4000 to win event honoring one of the all time greats in short track racing. Along with the Non Wing Sprint Cars, the Fowler and Hadding 1000cc Mini-Sprints, Miracle Motorsports Tuff Trucks and JR and Sons Service Center Compacts will also be in action.

“The Flyin’ Buckeye” Matt Westfall is the defending champion of this big event honoring racing legend Jack Hewitt. Westfall has dominated the the Non Wing Sprint car class at Waynesfield in 2010, winning every feature event except for one. Matt will be looking to continue his winning ways, but there will be several drivers looking to end his dominance in a big way by picking up the biggest payday of the year at WRP.

Hoosier Tire helped build the anticipation leading up to the 2nd Annual Jack Hewitt Classic by putting on a small points series paying a point fund to the top drivers at a handful of races at Waynesfield Raceway Park, Gas City I-69 Speedway, Eldora Speedway, and Fremont Speedway. In addition to the points fund, 4 races of “The Road to the Hewitt Classic” were presented at “Hewitt Qualifiers”. Those four races also provided the winners with a guaranteed starting spot in the 2nd Annual Jack Hewitt Classic A Main. Robert Ballou picked up the win on July 2nd at Gas City, earning the first guaranteed spot. Matt Westfall earned a starting spot by winning at Waynesfield Raceway Park on July 3rd. On Saturday July 31st, Robert Ballou won at Eldora Speedway, which means no entry was awarded, as Ballou is already in based on his earlier win at Gas City. Thomas Meseraull garnered the final guaranteed berth in the Hewitt Classic A Main by winning the $2500 to win A Main at Fremont Speedway on Sunday August 1st. Ballou, Westfall, and Meseraull still have to try and race their way in, but will tag the tail of the feature if their efforts fail.

There will be one more driver in the A Main, and it could be you! One lucky fan will win the opportunity to start the 2nd Annual Jack Hewitt Classic A Main in the back of the Hewitt Racing two seat sprint car driven by the Troy, Ohio racing legend himself, Jack Hewitt. This “Ride of a Lifetime” is sure to be a thrill for the lucky fan as they take the green flag and have their name listed as the final starter of the 2nd Annual Jack Hewitt Classic.

The JR and Sons Service Center Compacts will compete in double features as they open the evening with the remainder of their makeup feature from the rained out event on Saturday July 24th. With 3 laps complete, #1 Mike Sawmiller will be the leader, with #31 Jeff Kimes in second, #76E Brandon Frazier will be third, #17 Justin Durflinger fourth, and #11 Jordan Iiams in fifth.

Don’t miss out on this huge event honoring a true racing legend this Saturday August 7th as Aesthetic Finishers presents the 2nd Annual Jack Hewitt Classic. General Admission $18 for ages 16 and older, $6 for ages 11 to 15, and kids 10 and under get in FREE! Pit passes $30 for all ages.

Pit gates will open at 4PM, Grandstand gates at 5PM, Hot Laps at 6:15PM, Racing at 7PM.

Aesthetic Finishers is Ohio’s premier family owned and operated powder and ceramic coating facility dedicated to serving the needs of both the high and low volume commercial / industrial clients and the individual hotrod / motorsports clients. Aesthetic Finishers utilizes the finest powder coatings and ceramic header coatings available. Our trademarked Armor Coat™ ceramic header coating process is second to none. For more information on Aesthetic Finishers products and services, give them a call at (937)778-8777, or visit their website at

Jack Hewitt Facts:
– Inducted into the National Sprint Car Hall of Fame(2001)
-Voted 19th of the 25 Greatest Sprint Car Drivers of the Century by the National Sprint Car Poll(1999)
– 1985 All Star Circuit of Champions Points Champion
– 1985 All Star Sprint Speedweek Champion
– 3 time Eldora Enterprises Sprint Car Points Champion(1986, 1987, 1989)
– 2 time USAC Silver Crown Champion(1986, 1987)
– 1990 Belleville Midget Nationals Champion
– 1990 Brad Doty Classic Champion
– 76 USAC Feature Wins
– The Only Driver to win all 4 divisions at the 4 Crown Nationals at Eldora Speedway(1998)
– The oldest rookie to qualify for the Indy 500(1998 – Finished 12th)
– Over 260 career A Main victories in USAC, All Star Circuit of Champions, World of Outlaws, CRA, and other local, regional, national, and international events.
– Jack is one of the most versatile drivers in history, competing in Sprint Cars, Midgets, Modifieds, Late Models, Silver Crown, Stock Cars, Indy Cars, and more.