urc United Racing Company Logo

From Bob Miller

Bedford, PA . . . .”it was just a long, long race”, commented URC Rookie Driver Bill Unglert of Old Bridge, NJ after scoring his first career Rislone URC Sprint feature win on Friday night at the Bedford Speedway. Unglert led the entire twenty-five laps but was pressured the entire race by some of URC’s best. Several caution flags and even a red flag on lap twenty-two brought the talent to the rear bumper of the Unglert sprinter, but there was no successful challenge even offered to the leader. The cautions made the race seem much longer to eventual winner Bill Unglert, but he handled the restarts more like a successful veteran then a rookie with URC in 2010. This event was also part of the season long Valley Forge Inc Pennsylvania Point Series.

URC heat race events were won by Unglert, Becca Anderson and Art Lidel. The Audi Shop thirteenth place bonus went to Chris Weiss as the Fred’s Trailer Parts Hard Charger Award went to Curt Michael who started fifteenth and advanced thirteen spots to finish second.

In the twenty-five lap feature, Bill Unglert jumped to an early but the caution was displayed as a flat tire forced Josh Weller to stop in turn two. On the restart, Unglert again set the pace followed by Art Liedl and Rory Janney. Becca Anderson driving the Dave Bett’s owned sprinter moved into third with JJ Grasso fourth on lap four. Tim Iulg enjoying a solid ride and racing in seventh stopped on lap six displaying the caution.

With ease and grace, Unglert set a blistering pace on the restart as he was chased by Liedl, Anderson, Grasso and Justin Collett who was delivering a strong run. On lap seven, both Anderson and Grasso passed Liedl they had their shot to go after the leader. Although they tried, Unglert maintained a solid lead even with the new challengers.

At the halfway point of the race, Unglert, Anderson, Grasso, Collett and Curt Michael made up the top five. The battle for second started to tighten and on lap sixteen, Grasso moved into second. Before the lap was completed, Anderson regained the runner-up spot but only after contact with Grasso in turn four. Michael, took the opportunity to complete the two car pass, slipping by both Grasso and Anderson to move into second.

Grasso now in fourth, made contact with the third turn wall and stopped on lap sixteen displaying still another caution flag. With extensive damage to the Palladino sprinter, Grasso retired to the pits. Under the same caution, Becca Anderson was moved back two spots for inconsiderate on the track driving.

It was restart time and Bill Unglert was up to the call as the green flag fell on lap nineteen. Curt Michel now in second, had his chance to battle the rookie but Unglert was up to the challenge and quickly established an eight to ten car length lead.

The red flag was displayed on lap twenty-two, this time for Chris Weiss who flipped in turn three. Weiss reported that he was OK after taking a hard tumble.

With still another restart at hand, Bill Unglert led the field down for the green flag. Curt Michael, was now in the hunt and racing second as Unglert took off with a blast. Over the final three laps, Unglert remained in strong command, extending his lead to at least ten car lengths over Michael.

Unglert ran nearly twenty-five perfect laps to pocket the $2,000 winner’s share of the payoff. Curt Michael, delivered a strong run to finish second after starting fifteenth. With motor problems earlier in the night, Justin Collett and car owner John Pinter finished a strong third with Kevin Nouse, the defending winner of this race finishing fourth with Becca Anderson fifth.

FEATURE FINISH: Bill Unglert, Curt Michael, Justin Collett, Kevin Nouse, Becca Anderson, Art Liedl, Tim Hogue, Jonathan Swanson, Kramer Williamson, Robbie Stillwaggon, Josh Weller, Randy West, Chris Weiss, Rory Janney, JJ Grasso, Tim Higgins, Kevin Darling, Gary Gollub, Tim Iulg, Midge Miller.

Brad Penn Oil 1st Heat Race Winner- – -Bill Unglert
Engler Machine & Tool 2nd Heat Race Winner- – – – Art Liedl
Bar’s Leaks 3rd Heat Race Winner- – – – Becca Anderson

The Valley Forge INC Pennsylvania sprint series will continue Saturday night as the Rislone URC Sprints will be in action at the Selinsgrove Speedway, race time is 7:30 PM.

For all your Hotel and lodging needs, check out Choice Hotels by visiting www.midatlantic.choicehotels.com. Be sure to mention LURC for special rates and discounts.