Ashwood Loses by Inches to York in Sprint Feature

creek county speedway logo

From John Rittenoure

KELLYVILLE, Okla. (August 21, 2010) – Travis Ashwood watched what would have been his first sprint car victory slip away when Jackie York edged him by inches at the checkered flag Saturday night at Creek County Speedway.

Ashwood was setting a strong pace but drove up into the cushion in turn one to start the final lap around the quarter-mile oval. Ashwood pulled back down in the groove and remained in the lead although the bobble allowed York to close the gap. York pulled alongside off the final turn and it was a drag race to the finish with York just edging ahead as Kimberly Bishop waved the checkered flag.

The 20-lap feature got underway with Robert Claunch jumping out front over Ashwood and Brent Bates. On lap nine Bates passed Claunch for second and tried to chase down Ashwood. Meanwhile York climbed into third and eventually shot around Bates for second on lap 13. York continued his charge toward the front while Bates remained in third.

Craig Chaffin set the pace in the modified feature to win for the third time this season. Chaffin drove into the lead on lap four then a few laps later Mike Duvall wheeled into second. After being involved in a mid-race mishap and restarting on the rear, points leader Ho Dean charged his way back into third by lap 14 but could not close on Duvall and Chaffin.

Just a week earlier Bobby Wolfe raced to victory in the super stock feature only have it taken away in a post race inspection. Saturday Wolfe was not to be denied as he once again raced to victory and this time he got to keep it.

Stacy Lee led the first 10 laps but on lap 11 Wolfe howled past and cruised home for the win. Nathan Campbell moved up to finish second just ahead of Johnny DeRamus.

Jerry Colby won for the fourth time in the factory stock division to keep his points lead margin well in hand. By lap three Colby and put his station wagon into the lead and never looked back. Jimmy Owen settled for second.

Jeff Maggard and Joshua Tyre battled in the final laps of the mini stock feature. But Maggard held his ground to record his first victory of the season. Maggard led the entire race after a lap one restart however Tyre took over second from Jonathan Fisher on lap 14 and slowly reeled Maggard in. Tyre challenged Maggard in turn four of lap 19 and challenged again on the final circuit of the Creek County oval, but Maggard did not give and picked up the win. Michael Stucks was third.

Shawn Tanner captured his second straight front wheel drive win. Tanner found his way around Donnie Rodman, Jr. on lap 11 after Rodman made contact with a lapped car and drove away for the win.

Kody Hill outran Russell Beck, Jr. to record a second straight victory in the FWD under 21 class. Hill took the lead away from Samantha Huelsenbeck on lap five and Beck followed into second. Diane Waters finished fourth behind Huelsenbeck and points leader Brittany Vieheller recorded a sixth place finish after hooking bumpers with Dakota Davis to bring out the yellow on lap three.

All classes will return next Saturday for another night of points racing. Racing will start an hour later until further notice due to the extreme summer heat. Gates open at 5 p.m. and racing starts at 8.