Hess locks up Badger title with BDM win

From Bryan Gapinski

Beaver Dam, Wis., Aug. 21— Mike Hess captured his second straight victory, Saturday Night winning the Mid-State Equipment Badger Midget Racing Series 20-lap feature at Beaver Dam Raceway. The victory clinched the second career Badger Driver’s Championship for the Riverton, Ill. native. Hess’ car owner Jerry Hardy also locked up his second Car Owner Championship with the two races remaining.

David Budres paced the initial lap around the 1/3-mile clay oval, before Hess took the lead. A caution for debris on Lap 5 bunched up the field. On the restart Budres flipped several times entering Turn 3, escaping injury. On the second restart Hess pulled away from the field while an intense battle waged for second place between four cars.

Scott Hatton moved into second place three laps later. Hess continued to hold his advantage when the caution appeared for a stalled car, with six laps remaining. Hatton then drew even with Hess for the lead at the start/finish line on Lap 16. Two laps later Hatton took the lead but before the lap could be completed Hess regained the top position exiting Turn 4 to take the white flag. Hess finished two car lengths ahead of Hatton, followed by Daniel Robinson, Rich Camfield and Eric Johnson.

Hess also set a 8-lap track record winning his heat race, breaking Hatton’s mark set earlier this year. The next Series event will be Aug. 28 event at Beaver Dam Raceway.

20-lap Feature: 1. Mike Hess; 2. Scott Hatton; 3. Daniel Robinson; 4.Rich Camfield; 5. Eric Johnson; 6. Cody Wisensel; 7. Travis Berryhill; 8. David Budres; 9. Jason Therkelsen; 10. Brian Terry; 11. Courtney Erfurth; 12. Davey Ray; 13. Bob Schreffler; 14. Brandon Waelti.

8-lap Heat Race Winners: Robinson, Hess.

Fast Time: Hatton, 15.804 seconds.

Cars Present: 14 Feature Lap Leaders: Budres 1, Hess 2-20.
*Budres flipped on Lap 5 of feature, uninjured.

Current Badger Midget Series Point Standings: 1.Mike Hess 1014; 2. Scott Hatton 767; 3. Travis Berryhill 739; 4. Davey Ray 634; 5. Brandon Waelti 612; 6. Courtney Erfurth 596; 7. Bob Schreffler 595; 8. Daniel Robinson 480; 9. Eric Johnson 457; 10. Brad Loyet 338.