Commonwealth Clash at Lernerville Speedway Quickly Approaching for the World of Outlaws on Saturday, September 25

By Tony Veneziano

Sarver, PA-August 31, 2010- With the races on the 2010 World of Outlaws schedule rapidly clicking off, every race and every lap for that matter is of the utmost important, as Joey Saldana, 20-time series champion Steve Kinser and Jason Meyers are waging one of the best title fights in series history. That battle will come to Lernerville Speedway in Sarver, Pennsylvania on Saturday, September 25 for the Commonwealth Clash as the best sprint car drivers in the world will take to the always racy four-tenths-mile with $10,000 awaiting the winner.

Saldana, who leads the series standings, was victorious in the finale of the Don Martin Memorial Silver Cup at Lernerville back in July, while Meyers had the most consistent night of the title contenders during the Twin 30’s, coming home fifth in the opener and third in the finale. He has won a couple of times in his career at the track. Kinser, who ran into some bad luck during the Silver Cup, has 17 career wins at Lernerville with the World of Outlaws to lead all drivers.

The trio is currently separated by just 38 total points, with Saldana leading Kinser by 26 markers, with Meyers third, only 12 points out of second. Saldana leads the series in wins with 12 through August 28, while Kinser leads the series with 47 Top-10, finishes with both drivers tied with 32 Top-Fives to lead the series, while Meyers has set fast time on eight occasions this season to lead the trio of title contenders.

When the World of Outlaws invade Lernerville Speedway for the Commonwealth Clash on Saturday, September 25 just seven events will remain on the season, which culminate with the World Finals at The Dirt Track at Charlotte, November 4-6.

Donny Schatz, the four-time and defending World of Outlaws champion, who is currently fourth in points, won the Commonwealth Clash in 2003, when the event was held in the spring. He is also a three-time winner of the Don Martin Memorial Silver Cup, capturing that honor again season.

Jason Sides, who is fifth in points nearly won the opener of the Silver Cup last year and was third and sixth in the Twin 30’s this season as he looks for his first win at the track.

Danny Lasoski, the 2001 World of Outlaws champion, won for the first time in his career at Lernerville in 2009 and also claimed the overall Silver Cup title last year.

Also in action at the Commonwealth Clash will be veteran Craig Dollansky, who finished second in the finale of the Silver Cup in July, Paul McMahan, who drives for Kasey Kahne Racing, Lucas Wolfe, who hails from Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania, third generation driver Kraig Kinser, young gun Sam Hafertepe Jr., Hall of Famer Jac Haudenschild, veteran Chad Kemenah, and rookie contenders Ben Gregg and Toni Lutar.

A strong contingent of drivers from Western Pennsylvania will contend with the World of Outlaws in the Commonwealth Clash including: Tim Shaffer, who won the 2010 Knoxville Nationals, along with multi-time Lernerville titlist Ed Lynch Jr., Brian Ellenberger, the reigning World of Outlaws Kevin Gobrecht Rookie of the Year Award winner and Danny Holtgraver, the newly crowned 2010 Lernerville track champion.

Advance Reserved seats are $28 for adults and $24 for those ages 17-under. General Admission seating is $26 for Adults and $22 for students ages 11-17, with kids ages 10-under admitted free of charge in the General Admission section. Advance Reserved tickets include a FREE pit pass upgrade. This offer expires Friday, September 24. To purchase tickets online visit or call 724-353-1511.

The World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series is brought to fans across the country by many important sponsors and partners, including: Armor All (Official Car Care Products), Chizmark & Larson Insurance , Goodyear Tires (Official Tire), SuperClean (Official Cleaner-Degreaser), VP Racing (Official Racing Fuel); in addition to contingency sponsors, Jake’s Custom Golf Carts, KSE Race Products, Penske Shocks , R2C Performance, Racing Electronics, S&S Volvo; Engine Builder’s Challenge participants Don Ott Racing Engines, Kistler Engines, Shaver Specialties and Speedway Engines; and Chassis Builder’s Challenge participants J&J Auto Racing, Maxim Racing and XXX Race Company.