Martin Masters NCRA Sprints at Great American Dirt Track

National Championship Racing Association

By David Smith Jr.

Jetmore, Kansas – August 28, 2010 – A stumble on a restart allowed Liberal, Kansas driver Jason Martin to take the lead and never look back as he won his second O’Reilly/NCRA sprint car series feature event of the season at the Great American Dirt Track in Jetmore, Kansas on Saturday night.

J.D. Johnson started on the pole for the thirty lap feature event and took the lead over fellow front row starter Martin. Johnson, looking for his second feature victory of the season, led for several laps, keeping the hard-charging Martin behind and current series points leader Jeremy Campbell behind. But a caution would wave for a spinning Scott Cochran and on the restart, Johnson’s Alternative Pest Management/Evans Building Company Inc. /Auto Masters sponsored JE chassis failed to take off on the restart allowing Martin to take over the lead.

Despite a couple more cautions for minor spins there was no catching Martin as he and his Tim Engler Machine/Butler Built seats sponsored Maxim went the rest of the way unchallenged to pick up the victory.

Campbell, driving the Danny King owned ICM/Ethanol #E85 sponsored sprinter, ran second most of the event and held off a late race challenge from Johnson to finish in the runner up position. Johnson would rebound to finish third, followed by Mike Peters and Taylor Velasquez.

The three, ten lap heat races for the twenty car field were won by Jon Freeman, Johnson and Jake Marten.

The next event for the O’Reilly/NCRA sprint car series will take place this coming Sunday night as the series heads to the famed Belleville High Banks in Belleville, Kansas in a combined Labor Day weekend event with the series late model and modified north divisions.

The O’Reilly/NCRA sprint car series is entering its 21st consecutive season while the series itself is in the midst of their 40th season of sanctioning dirt track races throughout the Plains.

The series would like to thank the following for their partnership with the O’Reilly/NCRA sprint car series for the 2010 race season.

2010 NCRA sprint car sponsors: O’Reilly Auto Parts, Hoosier Race Tires, Sunoco Race Fuels

2010 NCRA sprint car contingency partners: Arizona Sports Shirts, Airflow Racing Products, Brodix Cylinder Heads, Hooker Harness, Keizer Racing Wheels, Pro Shocks, Racing Optics, Rod End Supply, Saldana Racing Products, Schoenfeld Headers, Super Shox, Taylor Cable Products, The Joie of Seating, Ultra-Shield Race Products, Vertex Magnetos and Winters Performance Parts

ARP Hard Luck: Not awarded

Saldana Racing Products 2nd Place: Campbell

The Joie of Seating 2nd Place= Campbell

Rod End Supply 3rd Place= Johnson

Super Shox 5th Place= Velasquez

1st Heat: 1) Jon Freeman 2) Jason Martin 3) Taylor Milton 4) Luke Cranston 5) Garry Lee Maier 6) Rick Wright, Jr. 7) Steven Richardson

2nd Heat: 1) J.D. Johnson 2) Jeremy Campbell 3) Mike Peters 4) Brian Herbert 5) A.J. Selenke 6) Kris Miller 7) Barry Gifford

3rd Heat: 1) Jake Marten 2) Taylor Velasquez 3) Josh Hodges 4) Kirby Hagens 5) Mark Wallinder 6) Scott Cochran

A Feature: 1) Jason Martin 2) Jeremy Campbell 3) J.D. Johnson 4) Mike Peters 5) Taylor Velasquez 6) Jon Freeman 7) Garry Lee Maier 8) Josh Hodges 9) Brian Herbert 10) A.J. Selenke 11) Kirby Hagens 12) Luke Cranston 13) Kris Miller 14) Rick Wright, Jr. 15) Mark Wallinder 16) Steve Richardson 17) Barry Gifford 18) Taylor Melton 19) Jake Marten 20) Scott Cochran