NCRA Sprints Take on Belleville This Sunday!

National Championship Racing Association

By David Smith Jr.

Midwest City, Oklahoma – August 31, 2010 It is on to speed and the high banks as the O’Reilly/NCRA sprint car division takes to the Belleville High Banks in Belleville, Kansas this coming Sunday night as part of a pre-Labor Day NCRA triple header that will also see the series’ late model and modified north divisions compete as well. It will also be the first of three scheduled races left on the 2010 season schedule to see who will be crowned this year’s season champion.

Coming off his second place feature finish last weekend of the Great American Dirt Track in Jetmore, Kansas, Jeremy Campbell of Wichita, Kansas will lead a strong contingent of drivers on to the high banks for the 23rd time in the series history.

Five-time and defending series champion Garry Lee Maier of Cimarron, Kansas leads in all-time 360 sprint car victories at the famed half mile oval with seven and is in a tight battle for the runner up position in the point standings with Goddard, Kansas driver J.D. Johnson. Thus far, four different drivers have reached victory lane during the past four races held at the track with Billy Alley taking the victory back in 2008. Brian Brown invaded the high banks in 2007 and picked up the victory with one of Maiers triumphs coming back in 2005. The late Steve King reeled off three straight victories before his passing, taking events held in 2002-2004.

While the official up to date point standings are unavailable at this time, four drivers (Campbell, Maier, Johnson and Mike Peters) have a legitimate shot at the series championship.

Gates on Sunday night will open at 5:00 PM with racing set for 7:30 PM. General admission tickets are $20 for adults and $10 for ages 10-14 years of age. The track is located 2.0 miles north of US 36 on US 81, then 0.4 mile southeast on M St. to 7th St., then 0.1 mile east (near the water tower, at the North Central Kansas Fairgrounds).

The O’Reilly/NCRA modified north and late model divisions will also be in action as well.

For more information concerning the O’Reilly/NCRA sprint car division, contact the series office (316) 755-1781. For more on the National Championship Racing Association check them out on the web at

The National Championship Racing Association would like to thank the following contributors for their involvement with the sprint car division for the 2010 race season:

2010 NCRA sprint car sponsors: O’Reilly Auto Parts, Hoosier Race Tires, Sunoco Race Fuels.

2010 NCRA sprint car contingency partners: Arizona Sports Shirts, Airflow Racing Products, Brodix Cylinder Heads, Hooker Harness, Keizer Racing Wheels, Pro Shocks, Racing Optics, Rod End Supply, Saldana Racing Products, Schoenfeld Headers, Super Shox, Taylor Cable Products, The Joie of Seating, Ultra-Shield Race Products, Vertex Magnetos and Winters Performance Parts.

06/15/08 Billy Alley, 07/26/07 Brian Brown, 07/28/05 Garry Lee Maier, 07/27/04 Steve King, 08/05/03 Steve King, 07/30/02 Steve King, 07/31/01 Garry Lee Maier, 08/01/00 John Blurton, 08/03/99 Garry Lee Maier, 06/07/98 Jon Johnson, 06/08/97 Ed Steenson, 07/14/96 Dennis Park, 07/30/95 Garry Lee Maier, 07/08/94 Garry Lee Maier, 07/02/93 Garry Lee Maier, 09/13/92 Clay Bontrager, 09/06/92 Garry Lee Maier, 08/21/92 John Blurton, 07/03/92 John Blurton, 09/08/91 Jon Johnson, 07/29/91 Jon Johnson, 09/02/90 John Blurton