Double the Fun for MSCS This Weekend

mscs midwest sprint car series


(Haubstadt, IN – September 15, 2010) It is mid September and it is crunch time in the sprint car ranks. The Hoosier Tire Midwest Sprint Car Series has just three races left. All will be in Southern Indiana. These 3 events will close out the season. The racing will determine which driver will wear the 2010 MSCS Points Crown and send a number of drivers to the bank with some of the biggest pay checks of the season. Two of those races are set for this weekend.

Bloomington Speedway will provide the first hurtle for competitors to encounter. The Sept. 17th Friday night show has the potential to draw the biggest field of MSCS sprinters to be assembled so far this season. The count in 2009 for the September race was in fact the highest of that season. The highest car count so far this year at an MSCS show was the 41 sprints present for the Chuck Amati Classic 68 held in June. Whatever the final car count Friday the quality of the entries is assured beyond the actual starting field for the feature. Round Track Hoosier Hysteria should encompass the entire Fall Clash beginning with the heats and lasting on into B-Main action as drivers try to capture one of the transfer spots.

A select number of MSCS regulars know the quick way around Bloomington Speedway. Bloomington regulars have also experienced MSCS competition before. It is a match-up waiting to happen. Four MSCS regulars have won features at Bloomington Speedway this season. The most recent winner Jonathan Hendrick picked up a feature win on the red clay at Bloomington in August. Jonathan leads the MSCS Rookie of the Year Points Chase and is third in overall points. That win certainly rates as a confidence booster heading into action Friday! Five of the top twenty drivers in MSCS points are also in the top twenty in Bloomington Speedway season points. Brady Short heads that list.

MSCS has made just two prior appearances at Bloomington Speedway. Jon Stanbrough won the $5,000 prize there last September over Jerry Coons Jr. Stanbrough also won back in August of 2006 over Dickie Gaines. Two of the veteran racer’s 14 MSCS career wins have been at Bloomington Speedway.

Saturday night MSCS action will move on Southwest to Tri-State Speedway at Haubstadt, IN. The hurtle waiting there might be a little higher in that the feature is for fifty laps. The top prize will increase to $10,000 to win! It will be the third running of the Haubstadt Hustler Sprint 50. Bryan Clauson is the defending race winner after outrunning a star laden field in 2009. Jeff Bland Jr. won the first installment of the Haubstadt Hustler in 2008. Bland is one of only five drivers to win an MSCS feature this year. Blake Fitzpatrick’s win at Haubstadt Labor Day weekend marked the only time this season that a driver has been able to capture that elusive first win in the series.

Saturday night is also when the drawing will be held for various prizes with drivers racing both nights eligible. The top prize is a DMI Bulldog XR-2 Rear End for a sprint car. Other prizes include: Hoosier Tires, VP Fuel, AFCO Shocks and Hinchman Uniform Gift Certifcates plus a Helmet bag from Speedway Motors.

In addition the whole weekend is a celebration in that it serves as the 10th Anniversary for the MSCS Series. The driver with the best overall performance at the two tracks as determined by MSCS officials will receive a special commemorative award.

What else could a race fan ask for? A complete program of UMP Indiana Super Stocks will be on the card at Bloomington Speedway. The UMP Open Wheel Modifieds will race to complete the program at Tri-State Speedway.