Elson Wins and Clinches Title at Lawrenceburg

Lawrenceburg Speedway

From Lawrenceburg Speedway

Andrew Elson had not one yet at Lawrenceburg this year. He entered Saturday night’s season point’s finale with a commanding point lead over John Memmer. Elson started out the night by winning his heat race over John Memmer. After drawing the 6th starting position in the redraw, Elson would have to get to the front on his own. When the green flag flew, Shawn Westerfeld would take the lead from his pole position. Westerfeld, looking for his first feature win looked like he was on his way to his first career sprint car feature. As Westerfeld showed his muscle up front, Elson was working his way to the front. As one of the quickest cars all night long, it did not take long for Elson to track Westerfeld down. As Elson went underneath Westerfeld in turn 4, he slid up in front of Westerfeld. Elson’s right rear, made contact with Westerfelds left front. This sent Westerfeld’s Sprint car flipping violently where it landed up against the wall in turn 4. Obviously, done for the night, Westerfeld was able to walk away from the crash. Elson led the remaining 13 laps on his way to the victory. Joss Moffatt, the defending track champion challenged Elson late but had to settle for second followed by Chad Boespflug, John Memmer and JR Douglas. Heat race winners were Elson, Jordan Kinser, and Westerfeld. By pretty much just showing up Andrew Elson clinched The 2010 Lawrenceburg Speedway Track Championship over John Memmer. It’s been a very competitive season for the track championship, and it came down to the final point’s night. Congratulations to Andrew Elson!


September 18, 2010 – Lawrenceburg, Indiana — Lawrenceburg Speedway

HEAT 1 — 1. 27A Andrew Elson, 2. 4M John Memmer, 3. 98 Chad Boespflug, 4. 09 JR Douglas, 5. 39 Matt Goodnight, 6. 71X Jason Soudrette, 7. 17B Nick Nabor.

HEAT 2 — 1. 5K Jordan Kinser, 2. 12 Ted Hines, 3. 5J Joss Moffatt, 4. 59 Chett Gehrke, 5. 22W Mike Weber, 6. 20 Steve Thomas, 7. 82 Mike Miller.

HEAT 3 — 1. 89 Shawn Westerfeld, 2. 9H Logan Hupp, 3. 4 Michael Fischesser, 4. 1W Mitch Wissmiller, 5. 2 Brad Stevens, 6. 2W Brandon Whited, 7. 2X Zac Osborn.

27A Andrew Elson

FEATURE — 1., 2. 5J Joss Moffatt, 3. 98 Chad Boespflug, 4. 4M John Memmer, 5. 09 JR Douglas, 6. 5K Jordan Kinser, 7. 12 Ted Hines, 8. 1W Mitch Wissmiller, 9. 59 Chett Gehrke, 10. 82 Mike Miller, 11. 2W Brandon Whited, 12. 71X Jason Soudrette, 13. 2X Zac Osborn, 14. 20 Steve Thomas, 15. 2 Brad Stevens, 16. 17B Nick Nabor, 17. 39 Matt Goodnight, 18. 89 Shawn Westerfeld, 19. 9H Logan Hupp, 20. 4 Michael Fischesser, 21. 22W Mike Weber.

Lap Leaders: 1 9H Logan Hupp, 2-11 89 Shawn Westerfeld, 12-25 27A Andrew Elson.