By Lance Jennings &

VENTURA, CA – OCTOBER 15, 2010… The October 23rd All Coast Construction 360 Challenge at Jim Naylor’s Ventura Raceway will feature a total purse worth nearly $23,000. The feature winner will claim the $5,000 top prize with an additional $5,000 awarded to the series champion. With extra cash and bonuses available, this will be one of most anticipated races of 2010 at “The Best Little Dirt Track In America.”

The purse is specifically designed to ensure that local drivers take home significant money, yet still allow for attracting out of town drivers. Race organizers are especially concerned that the prize money will flow all the way to the bottom. That is why the feature will pay $300 to start and the goal is to make improvements every year.

Founded in 2008 by All Coast Construction’s Mike Grosswendt and Ventura Raceway Promoter Jim Naylor, the popular mini-series for the VRA Sprint Cars has grown to become one of the most prestigious events on the West Coast. “I have a great affection for Jim Naylor and this fantastic racing program he has built,” asserts Grosswendt. “This series celebrates his organization, the fans and most of all the incredible drivers that come here and compete at such a high level. Jim and I are working hard to give everyone an unbelievable racing experience on October 23rd!” All Coast Construction will be providing free commemorative posters to the fans and all sprint car drivers will receive a free commemorative Driver’s T-Shirt.

A large car count is anticipated and raceway officials are planning to follow a five heat race / two semi-main event format. The top three drivers in the 10-lap heat races will earn direct transfers to the feature, with four last chance spots open from each of the two semi-main events. As a bonus, Grosswendt is offering $500 to the driver that earns the “Jim Kierce Memorial Hard Charger / Best Passing Job” honors in the feature. The twenty-three car, $5,000-to-win and $300-to-start main event is drawing interest from across the country.

Indiana drivers Jon Stanbrough and Dave Darland will battle the stars of the VRA 360 Sprint Car Series on October 23rd. Both Stanbrough and Darland are among the most decorated Traditional Sprint Car drivers in the country. The future Hall of Fame drivers have found local top-notch rides and their performances will be worth the price of admission.

Camarillo’s Josh Ford won the March 20th event and holds a ten point advantage over June 26th winner Jimmy Crawford of Newbury Park. To win the title, both drivers will have to battle a talented roster of drivers including VRA point leader Troy Rutherford, former track champions Greg Taylor and Luis Espinoza, former USAC Western Midget champion Rick Hendrix, 2010 Wagsdash champion Brody Roa, and the other top drivers of the Ventura Racing Association. As this writing goes to press, more special guest drivers are looking to secure rides for the October 23rd event. More information will be released as it becomes available.

All Coast Construction would like to thank Taylor Trucking & Crane Service, Patrick Grosswendt, and Fred Holmes for their support in making this event possible.

Ventura Raceway is located on the Ventura County Fairgrounds at 10 West Harbor Blvd. in Ventura, California. Adult tickets are $14, Senior, Military, and Student tickets (ID Required) are $11, while Children’s tickets (12 and under) are FREE. For more event information, please visit

To catch all of the action of the VRA Sprint Car Series and Ventura Raceway, Mike Truex’s Loudpedal Productions has DVD videos available for purchase. For more information, call (805) 407-7229 or visit In addition, Ventura Raceway offers a live feed of every event at The live feed will begin at 5:00pm PST.


1. Josh Ford 480; 2. Jimmy Crawford 470; 3. Troy Rutherford 410; 4. Greg Taylor 370; 5. Kevin Kierce 365; 6. Cody Kershaw 360; 7. Johnathon Henry 350; 8. Steve Conrad 330; 9. Don Gansen 330; 10. Luis Espinoza 290; 11. Brian Camarillo 290; 12. Justin Kierce 255; 13. Dakota Kershaw 250; 14. Brent Camarillo 250; 15. Rick Hendrix 230; 16. Guy Woodward 155; 17. Brandon Thomson 150; 18. Tyler Edwards 150; 19. Bruce Douglass 150; 20. David Cardey 140.

1. $5,000; 2. $2,000; 3. $1,000; 4. $600; 5. $525; 6. $475; 7. $450; 8. $425; 9. $400; 10. $375; 11. $360; 12. $350; 13. $340; 14. $330; 15. $320; 16. $310; 17. $300; 18. $300; 19. $300; 20. $300; 21. $300; 22. $300; 23. $300.