Bradford Wins AHG Feature at Perth

Perth, SA — Shaun Bradford has powered to victory in the opening round of the 2010-11 AHG Sprintcar Series competition at the Perth Motorplex on Saturday October 23.

The third generation star turned in a brilliant performance around the high banked 500 metre dirt oval to start the new season off in the best possible way.

Bradford came from position 4 in the 21 car field and crossed the line ahead of Ben Ellement, Steven Lines, Luch Monte and defending series titleholder Jamie Maiolo.

The night kicked off with time trials that saw Madsen post a 14.818 second circulation to head Kris Coyle (14.837), Ben Ellement (14.873) and the WA Champion David Priolo (14.878).

The opening heat was halted after Carl Dowling bounced over a wheel along the main straight.

Bradley Maiolo finished well clear of Bradford and Mark Wells.

Heat 2 saw Flex Motorsport driver Nathan Brady slide sideways on turn 2 and hit by Ken Sartori.

His elder brother Sheldon kept out in front of the opposition to record an impressive victory over Kye Scroop and Jamie Maiolo.

Bradley Maiolo made it two wins from two starts when he took the heat 3 honours over Robert Watson Jr and Bradford.

Sheldon Brady was showing the way in heat 4 when two cars spun on turn 2.

Brady slowed expecting the caution lights to come on.

They did not and Callum Williamson, the 2009-10 rookie of the year, scored his first 410 success over Priolo and Sheldon Brady.

At the start of the 25-lap main event Coyle slid across the track and was hit by Dowling.

As the caution lights flashed, Jason Boland jumped a wheel and rolled along the back straight.

The next attempt saw Jason Kendrick hit a rut on turn 1 and roll his car.

Then Williamson damaged the front end of his car and attempted to come down across the track, only to be collected by Steven Ford.

Robert Watson Jr climbed a wheel along the back straight and flipped in spectacular fashion.

There was only one lap in the record books when the survivors took the green again with Priolo in front of Wells, Bradford, Ben Ellement and Lines.

Bradford was able to power around Wells and then close on the race leader.

Soon afterwards Priolo and Bradford came together along the main straight with Priolo spinning onto the infield and then rejoining the race.

Bradford headed Wells, Lines, Ben Ellement, Monte and Priolo at this stage.

With 14 laps remaining Nathan Brady came to a halt on turn 1 and they lined up again.

Then Lines hit the turn 1 fence and was out of contention.

Bradford still showed the way to Wells, who retired with eight laps left to run.

Bradford went on to notch a well deserved victory over Ben Ellement, Madsen, Monte, Jamie Maiolo, Dowling, David Ellement, Scroop, Sheldon Brady, Trevor Reynolds and Nathan Brady.

The second round of the AHG Series is set down for the Collie Speedway this coming Saturday (October 30).

AHG Sprint Cars

Qualifying: Ian Madsen 14.818, Kris Coyle 14.837, Ben Ellement 14.873, David Priolo 14.878, Jason Kendrick 14.906, Mark Wells 14.907, Jamie Maiolo 14.952, Luch Monte 14.957, Steven Lines 15.005, Shaun Bradford 15.077, David Ellement 15.155, Carl Dowling 15.226, Trevor Reynolds 15.478, Robert Watson 15.506, Nathan Brady 15.508, Steven Ford 15.724, Callum Williamson 15.770, Bradley Maiolo 15.820, Kye Scroop 15.858, Jason Boland 16.316, Sheldon Brady 16.538, Darren Mewett 16.956, Ken Sartori – DNS. Den Dickson 15.354 (weighed in light).

Heat 1: 1st Bradley Maiolo, 2nd Shaun Bradford, 3rd Mark Wells, 4th Kris Coyle, 5th Luch Monte, 6th David Priolo, 7th Carl Dowling, 8th Jason Boland, 9th Steven Ford, 10th Darren Mewett. DNF: Robert Watson, Ben Dickson.

Heat 2: 1st Sheldon Brady, 2nd Kye Scroop, 3rd Jamie Maiolo, 4th Jason Kendrick, 5th Steven Lines, 6th Ben Ellement, 7th Callum Williamson, 8th Ian Madsen, 9th David Ellement, 10th Ken Sartori. DNF: Trevor Reynolds, Nathan Brady.

Race 3: 1st Bradley Maiolo, 2nd Robert Watson, 3rd Shaun Bradford, 4th Mark Wells, 5th David Ellement, 6th Ben Ellement, 7th Kris Coyle, 8th Kye Scroop, 9th Jamie Maiolo. DNF: Nathan Brady.

Race 4: 1st Callum Williamson, 2nd David Priolo, 3rd Sheldon Brady, 4th Steven Lines, 5th Luch Monte, 6th Jason Kendrick, 7th Carl Dowling, 8th Jason Boland, 9th Ian Madsen. DNF: Ben Dickson, Trevor Reynolds, Steven Ford.

Feature: 1st Shaun Bradford, 2nd Ben Ellement, 3rd Ian Madsen, 4th Luch Monte, 5th Jamie Maiolo, 6th Carl Dowling, 7th David Ellement, 8th Kye Scroop, 9th Sheldon Brady, 10th Trevor Reynolds, 11th Nathan Brady. DNF: Mark Wells, Steven Lines, David Priolo, Bradley Maiolo, Jason Kendrick, Callum Williamson, Robert Watson, Steven Ford, Kris Coyle and Jason Boland.


Race 1: 1st Rick Geneve, 2nd Alfonso Guadagnino, 3rd Jason Roser, 4th Scott Glazebrook, 5th Dean McAllan, 6th Neville Lance, 7th Todd Waddell, 8th Keith Giles, 9th Glen Mears,10th Tom Watson, 11th Andreas Henze, 12th Vaughan Manders, 13th Steven Henderson. DNF: Perry Farcich, Paul Robinson, Ross Heywood.

Race 2: 1st Neville Lance, 2nd Glen Mears, 3rd Rick Geneve, 4th Scott Glazebroo, 5th Todd Waddell, 6th Keith Giles, 7th Steven Henderson, 8th Andreas Henze, 9th Dean McAllan. DNF: Alfonso Guadagnino, Jason Roser, Tom Watson and Ross Heywood.

Race 3: 1st Neville Lance, 2nd Todd Waddell, 3rd Steven Henderson, 4th Rick Geneve, 5th Scott Glazebrook, 6th Keith Giles, 7th Jason Roser, 8th Andreas Henze, 9th Dean McAllan, 10th Tom Watson. DNF: Glen Mears.

Points: Neville Lance 295, Rick Geneve 295, Scott Glazebrook 290, Todd Waddell 289, Todd Waddell 289, Keith Giles 283, Steven Henderson 280, Dean McAllan 280, Andreas Henze 276, Jason Roser 271, Glen Mears 270, Tom Watson 261, Alfonso Guadagnino 178, Vaughan Manders 168, Ross Heywood, Paul Robinson and Perry Farcich 158 each.