Cobby And Wright Win Round 1 at Speedway City

From Speedway City

Sunday October 31, 2010 — Last night the 2010/11 Speedway City season kicked off under a grey sky but despite the near arctic conditions the racing was red hot with the opening round of the Revolution Racegear Sprintcar Track Championships going the way of Jamie Cobby (Open) and Darryl Wright (360ci). Due to the rain out at Avalon the Open Sprintcar field was bolstered by the addition of two extra entries and it was one of the late entries who almost walked away with win.

Following the heat races, which were claimed by Dylan Jenkin, Justin Sloan and Ricky Maiolo, current Track Champion Luke Dillon, was the top qualifier, with Jenkin (late entry), Sloan, Maiolo, David Murcott, Cobby, Daniel Pestka and Josh Ruhs completing the top 8 in the 15 car field. On the initial start Dillon got the jump with Maiolo and Jenkin falling in behind. The first caution of what proved to be a dramatic race came on lap four as Ruhs spun in turn 2.

The race then settled down with the top two having a great battle for the lead with the big mover being Murcott who forged his way to third before a controversial moment on lap 14. Coming out of turn 2 Murcott spun the Downing Brothers #97 with the caution being thrown despite the fact he kept the car running. As a result he was sent to the rear.

On the restart Dillon lead away from Maiolo, Jenkin, Cobby, Pestka and Matt Egel with the battle upfront continuing until lap 19 when the Maiolo rode the right rear of Dillon’s race car cutting the tyre on the #81 JEI and sending Maiolo into the turn four wall. This elevated Jenkin into the race lead and he led the following four laps only to spin on the drying track in turn 2 with only two laps remaining.

From that point Cobby, who had been running fourth only four laps earlier, led the remaining two laps to defeat Pestka, Egel, Jason Loveday and Steven Caruso to claim the opening feature of the Speedway City season.

The 360ci Sprintcar events were split into 2 divisions due to the number of new competitors into the class this year. Murray Bridge resident Darryl Wright proved to be too good in the 15 lap final as he defeated Shane Hendry and current All Star Champion Colin Brooks. In Division 2 current Lightning Sprint State Champion Brendan Quinn showed great car control to remain undefeated all night taking the 12 lap feature event ahead of Brendan Guerin and Mason Merritt. Unfortunately Tyson Chambers joined the upside down club on debut as he crashed out of the final in dramatic fashion but he emerged from the crash unscathed.