Layton, Haus and Heane Crowned Port Champions

Port Royal Speedway Logo

From Port Royal Speedway

Port Royal, PA – Port Royal Speedway and PRS Promotions crowned the 2010 track champions Saturday night at the annual awards banquet ceremony at the Port Royal Community Building. Nearly $25,000 was distributed to the top-10 point finishers in the 410 sprint, late model and pro stock divisions.

Chad Layton of Harrisburg claimed the Aumiller and Associates Insurance crown for his first 410 sprint title anywhere. Driving the Middleswarth No. 7, Layton took three wins and a total of 12 top-five’s and 16 top-10 finishes during his title run. It was the sixth career Port Royal title for team Middleswarth.

Rick Lafferty was awarded for second in the point chase with three wins and a total of 15 top-10s. Mike Wagner was third with one victory and a dozen top-10s. Cliff Brian was fourth with a dozen top-10s while Greg Hodnett ended up fifth in points with four victories and 12 top-10s as well.

Sixth through 10th in sprint points: Mike Erdley, Justin Henderson, Craig Robinson, Ryan Taylor and Joey Hershey

Camp Hill lady racer Nicole Bower was awarded sprint Rookie of the Year honors. Craig Robinson took home Most Improved Driver in sprints.

Veteran ace Scott Haus of Hamburg was on hand to accept laurels for the seventh Port Royal late model title of his career in the division sponsored by AB Auto Glass and Grays Licensing. Haus garnered six checkered flags in his quest for the title and 16 top-fives. Haus’ other titles came in 1996, ’98, 2003, ’07, ’08, and ’09.

Second in late model points belonged to Tim Wilson, who along with one victory took nine additional top-fives. Third was Mitch Hack who had eight top-fives followed by four-time winner Waylon Wagner who had seven additional top-fives. The son of title winner Scott Haus, Andy Haus ended the year fifth in points with a lone win and two other top-fives to go along with a total of 11 top-10 finishes.

Sixth through 10th in late model points: Gary Beward, Jere Wierman, Bryon Sipe, Mike Romig and Tim Gray.

Andy Haus, with a fifth in season points, was named late model Rookie of the Year. Waylon Wagner’s record on the season earned him Most Improved Driver.

John Heane was the 2010 Miller Auto Parts pro stock titlist. It was the first title of Heane’s career during which time he picked up a pair of victories and a total of 15 top-10 finishes. Heane picked up a jacket courtesy of Hoosier Racing Tires.

Dan Berry was second in points with four wins followed by Tim Krape, two wins; Harold Ranck and Derick Garman.

Sixth through 10th in pro stock points: Terry Naugle, Josh Angle, Jason Zook, Keith Garman and Tracker.

Trophies were awarded to the top-five point finishers in the GT Customs and Air Brushing enduros. Drivers accepting were champion Jason Davis, Bill Powell, Jan Powell, Steve Harlan and Craig Imes.

Zimmerman Truck Lines powder puff champion Jen Powell accepted laurels along with lady racers Julie Colyer, Tammy Speece, Teresa Kepner, Violette Leach, Sharon Auker, Holly Renninger and Carmen Palm.

Goshorn Racing Supplies of Blairs Mills presented jackets to champions in every division. Beautiful championship rings were awarded to all the champions courtesy of Foss Jewelers in Mifflintown and Lewistown.

Special recognition awards were presented to retiring officials Jeff Richardson and Pat Snyder. Richardson held the handicappers position spanning a period of three decades. Snyder has been the Port Royal flagman for some 20 years. John Sheaffer Dodge of Mifflintown as also honored for supplying the pace truck.

The 2011 season opener featuring 410 and 358 sprints is slated for March 19 at 6 PM.