Badger 2011 season highlighted by 20 races

By Bryan Gapinski
Tulsa, Okla., Jan. 14—Officials of the Badger Midget Auto Racing Association (BMARA) released a 20-race schedule for the 2011 racing season, today. The Diamond Anniversary season will mark the 75th year of sanctioning midget auto racing, for the country’s oldest midget auto racing organization. The announcement was made during the Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Midget Nationals.
Sun Prairie’s Angell Park Speedway returns as the cornerstone of the series, with ten races slated at the famed 1/3-mile facility. A USAC National/Badger co-sanctioned doubleheader May 14-15 opens the facility. Other USAC National/Badger events will be the Cornfest Midget Classic on Aug. 21 and the 30th annual Firemans Nationals presented by Pepsi on Sep. 3. The 75th Anniversary Badger Midget Race Night will be on July 17, co-sanctioned by POWRi. Other Badger Angell Park events will be on May 29, June 19, June 26, July 10, and Aug. 14.
The Wilmot (Wis.) Speedway will host “The 5th annual Salute to Harry Turner” on July 17, a co-sanctioned event with POWRi and return for a second date on Aug. 13. Badger will co-sanction four events in Illnois with POWRi, June 3 at Fayette County Speedway (Brownstown, Ill.), and June 4 at Peoria (Ill.) Speedway. July 1-2 will be the two-day POWRi/Badger event at Belle Claire Speedway (Belleville, Ill.) for the second straight year.
Badger, and Rocky Mountain Midget Racing Association (RMMRA) will endorse the POWRi sanctioned Speedway Motors Midget Money week presented by Rev Honey. The opening event will be July 28 at Solomon Valley Raceway (Beloit, Kan,) for the 2nd annual Chad McDaniel Memorial. The two-day July 29-30 Cornhusker Midget Nationals at Junction Motor Speedway (McCool Junction, Neb,) will be highlighted by Saturday Night’s feature paying $12,000 to win. The final event will be the next evening at US 36 Raceway (Cameron, Mo.).
Mike Hess (driver) and Jerry Hardy (car owner) will again team-up seeking their third Series Championship in four years. The schedule for the Badger 600cc Micro series will be announced within the next few weeks.

2011 Schedule
Sat. May 14 Angell Park Speedway (Sun Prairie, Wis.)
Sun. May 15 Angell Park Speedway
Sun. May 29 Angell Park Speedway
Fri. June 3 Fayette County Speedway (Brownstown, Ill.)
Sat. June 4 Peoria Speedway (Peoria, Ill.)
Sun. June 19 Angell Park Speedway
Sun. June 26 Angell Park Speedway
Fri. July 1 Bell-Claire Speedway (Belleville, Ill.)
Sat. July 2 Bell-Claire Speedway
Sun. July 10 Angell Park Speedway
Sat. July 16 Wilmot Raceway (Wilmot, Wis.)
Sun. July 17 Angell Park Speedway
Thu. July 28 Solomon Valley Speedway (Beloit, Kan.)
Fri. July 29 Junction Motor Speedway (McCool Junction, Neb.)
Sat.. July 30 Junction Motor Speedway
Sun. July 31 US 36 Speedway (Cameron, Mo.)
Sat. Aug. 13 Wilmot Raceway (Wilmot, Wis.)
Sun. Aug. 14 Angell Park Speedway
Sun. Aug. 21 Angell Park Speedway
Sat. Sep. 3 Angell Park Speedway