ASCS Canyon Region 2011 Schedule Announced

2010 ascs American Sprint Car Series

By Lonnie Wheatley

TULSA, Okla. (January 28, 2011) – The American Sprint Car Series lone wingless series, the ASCS Canyon Region, is set for its fifth year of action in Arizona with the release of the 2011 schedule.

The ASCS Canyon Region will bring the best of wingless Sprint Car racing action to fans in Arizona with 18 scheduled nights of competition at Tucson’s USA Raceway and Peoria’s Canyon Speedway Park.

The fifth year of ASCS Canyon Region competition will kick off at Tucson’s USA Raceway on Saturday night, March 12, and ultimately ends at USA as well with the wingless portion of the 44th Annual Western World Championships on November 17-19.

Along the way, the wingless aces will take to the 3/8-mile USA Raceway for a total of 13 nights with another handful of nights atop Peoria’s 3/8-mile Canyon Speedway Park clay oval.

Several traditional events are included on the 2011 schedule as well, including the May 28-29 Salute to Indy, the Firecracker 40 on July 3 and the Hank Arnold Memorial on September 3-4.

Canyon Speedway Park will also host a unique winged/wingless weekend on October 21-22 with the Canyon Southwest Championships featuring the winged Southwest Region on October 21 and then the wingless Canyon Region on October 22.

Charles Davis, Jr., outdistanced R.J. Johnson to claim his second ASCS Canyon Region championship in a row in 2010 after Jeremy Sherman claimed the initial two ASCS Canyon crowns in 2007 and 2008.

2011 ASCS Canyon Region Schedule

March 12 – USA Raceway (Tucson, AZ)
March 26 – Canyon Speedway Park (Peoria, AZ)
April 9 – Canyon Speedway Park (Peoria, AZ)
April 16 – USA Raceway (Tucson, AZ)
May 14 – USA Raceway (Tucson, AZ)
May 28 – USA Raceway (Tucson, AZ) – Salute to Indy
May 29 – USA Raceway (Tucson, AZ) – Salute to Indy
June 11 – Canyon Speedway Park (Peoria, AZ)
July 2 – USA Raceway (Tucson, AZ)
July 3 – USA Raceway (Tucson, AZ) – Firecracker 40
July 30 – USA Raceway (Tucson, AZ)
September 3 – USA Raceway (Tucson, AZ) – Hank Arnold Memorial
September 4 – USA Raceway (Tucson, AZ) – Hank Arnold Memorial
September 24 – Canyon Speedway Park (Peoria, AZ)
October 22 – Canyon Speedway Park (Peoria, AZ) – Canyon Southwest Championships
November 17 – USA Raceway (Tucson, AZ) – Western World Championships
November 18 – USA Raceway (Tucson, AZ) – Western World Championships
November 19 – USA Raceway (Tucson, AZ) – Western World Championships

The 2011 season marks the 20th year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing for the American Sprint Car Series, which brings the best of Sprint Car racing to approximately 100 different tracks throughout 30 states and Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil Sprint Car Series presented by K&N Filters, ASCS also consists of ten different Regions throughout the nation.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at