Anderson Speedway

From Anderson Speedway

ANDERSON, Ind. (March 31, 2011) – The 2011 racing season will officially begin this weekend with blockbuster shows on Saturday, April 2 and Sunday, April 3.

The Anderson Speedway Late Models debut on Saturday marking the return of the popular weekly division. They will be joined by Figure 8’s, WMDH ThunderCars and Front Wheel Drive Oval.

Ending a 13-year absence as a weekly division, Late Models return as the premier division of Anderson Speedway. Over the years the quarter-mile oval has produced some memorable Late Model races and the champions list includes the likes of Bob Fields, Vic Hellis, Ray Fullen, Jim Cooper and Brian Rievley.

The Figure 8 division will see a change at the top this year as reigning champion Rod Phipps will compete on a part-time basis as he will be a regular fixture with the IOFS Outlaw Figure 8 Series. Other drivers that were among the elite performers last year included Curtis Chapman, Jason Pitts and Bruce McFall.

Alexandria’s Hannah Lundy appears to be in the catbird’s seat for another career year and possibly a first title in the WMDH ThunderCar division. Rod Phipps is expected to make select starts and runner-up Rob Wyman Sr. is advancing to the Street Stock division. A talented list of drivers is expected to challenge Lundy during the upcoming season.

Chris Teepe returns to the Front Wheel Drive Oval division in hopes of claiming back-to-back championships and third overall. Last year Teepe out-dueled a larger contingent of quality racers with finishing ahead of Jerry Dane, Brad Bell, Paul Phipps and Jeff Williams.

On Saturday, April 2, spectator gates open at 4 p.m. with the racing beginning at 7. Admission is $10 for adults and $4 for kids ages 6-12. Children five and under get in free.

On Sunday afternoon, the USAC National Sprints will compete in a 50-lap feature during the Glen Niebel Classic. The Kenyon Midgets will also be part of the Open Wheel racing program on Sunday.

Bobby East is the winningest USAC driver in Anderson Speedway history and Sunday he will seek a ninth USAC victory at the quarter-mile paved oval in the debut of USAC’s brand-new Pavement Sprint Car Series.

East was the first driver to enter the Glen Niebel Classic, a race he won in 2009, the last time it was held. Last year, he also won a 100-lap USAC National Midget race at the track. Tracy Hines, who finished second to East in the 2009 classic, is also expected to be among Sunday’s competitors, as are the Swanson brothers, Kody and Tanner, who shared last year’s USAC “Most Improved Driver” honors. Tanner won the 2008 “Glen Niebel Classic” in his first-ever USAC National Sprint race appearance!

Chris Windom, a two-time Anderson USAC victor, is also among expected drivers Sunday. He won a Kenyon Midget feature there in 2006 and a Regional Midget race there in 2008. Throw in drivers like A.J. Fike, Russ Gamester and Casey Riggs and you have a formidable field of drivers to challenge for the win Sunday. Fike earned his initial USAC Silver Crown victory last year at Iowa Speedway.

On Sunday, April 3, spectator gates open at 11:30 a.m. with the racing beginning at 2. Admission is $15 for adults and $4 for kids ages 6-12. Children five and under get in free.

For additional information on Anderson Speedway, visit or contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.

– –