ASCS Gulf South Ready for GTRP and Royal Purple

2010 ascs American Sprint Car Series

By Lonnie Wheatley

TULSA, Okla. (April 11, 2011) – The Smiley’s Racing Products ASCS Gulf South Region is ready to sling some clay this coming weekend with a pair of $3,000-to-win feature events on tap along Texas’ Gulf Coast.

On Friday night, the series makes its second stop of the year at Beaumont’s Golden Triangle Raceway Park. Then, on Saturday night, it’s time for the first ASCS Gulf South tilt of the season at Baytown’s Royal Purple Raceway, previously known as Houston Raceway Park.

With the initial three events of the season in the books and one card nixed by rain, Fort Worth’s George White is out to the early points lead as he throws his hat into the ring for Gulf South honors for the first time.

With a seventh-place run in the March 4 opener at Golden Triangle and then a pair of third-place showings at Waco and Lufkin on April 1 and 2, White is out to the early lead as he tries to become the seventh different champion in the tenth year of Gulf South competition.

Ray Allen Kulhanek, the defending series champion, Brandon Berryman and Kelly Angelette, father of current series contender Klint Angelette, have each claimed two Gulf South titles with current Lucas Oil ASCS National Rookie contender Aaron Reutzel, Gary Watson and Jerry Bell each claiming a series title as well.

White holds a 36-point advantage over Reutzel, who is expected to be in National action in Little Rock this weekend, with Berryman just two more points back in third. Tommy Bryant, among the top five in series points over each of the past four years, is currently fourth with series veteran Greg Rilat rounding out the current top five.

After missing the feature cut on opening night, just as in his championship campaign of 2010, Kulhanek has rallied back up to sixth in points with Oklahoma’s Jeffrey Newell, Michael McNeil, Chris Sweeney and Channin Tankersley the balance of the top ten with Travis Elliott just one point outside.

Sam Hafertepe, Jr., won the March 4 season opener at Golden Triangle Raceway Park, the first of six scheduled Beaumont stops.

The first of four scheduled $3,000 tilts at Royal Purple Raceway will likely feature a winner other than one from 2010, as Jason Johnson won all three events with another being rained out. Johnson will be in Lucas Oil ASCS National action in Little Rock this weekend.

Friday’s action at Golden Triangle Raceway Park fires off at 8:00 p.m., with Saturday’s green flag at Royal Purple Raceway flying at 7:00 p.m.

Golden Triangle Raceway Park is located 9.5 miles west of I-10 on US 90 near Beaumont, TX. For more information, contact the track at 409-752-7200.

Royal Purple Raceway is located east of Houston on I-10 to Exit 799, then three miles south on State Highway 99, then west on FM 565. For more information, contact the track at 281-383-7223.

The Smiley’s Racing Products ASCS Gulf South Region is slated for 26 nights of racing action at ten different tracks throughout Texas, Louisiana and Mississippi in 2011.

Past ASCS Gulf South Region Feature Winners at Golden Triangle Raceway Park:
3/4/11 – Sam Hafertepe, Jr.
9/3/10 – Jason Johnson
8/20/10 – Jason Johnson
7/16/10 – Gary Wright
6/18/10 – Tommy Bryant
5/28/10 – Chris Morgan
3/5/10 – Gary Wright
10/2/09 – Channin Tankersley
9/18/09 – Jason Johnson
7/17/09 – Aaron Reutzel
6/19/09 – Travis Rilat
5/16/09 – Gary Wright
5/16/09 – Tommy Bryant (4/24 Makeup Feature)
3/6/09 – Gary Wright
8/15/08 – Channin Tankersley
7/18/08 – Gary Watson
5/9/08 – Channin Tankersley
2/29/08 – Jason Johnson
9/28/07 – Jason Johnson
6/22/07 – Michael Dupuy
5/18/07 – Brandon Berryman
4/6/07 – Jason Johnson
9/29/06 – Kevin Ramey
8/18/06 – Jason Johnson
6/23/06 – Gary Watson
8/19/05 – Ray Allen Kulhanek
6/17/05 – Ray Allen Kulhanek
4/15/05 – Travis Rilat
9/18/04 – Kelly Angelette
7/9/04 – Stephen Chevallier
* 9/28/02 – Michael Dupuy
* 9/27/02 – Tim Crawley
7/5/02 – Buddy Bodden
5/24/02 – Jason Johnson
* 4/5/02 – Zach Chappell

* – Indicates events held in conjunction with ASCS National Tour.

Past ASCS Gulf South Region Feature Winners at Royal Purple Raceway:
9/18/10 – Jason Johnson
6/19/10 – Jason Johnson
4/3/10 – Jason Johnson
9/19/09 – Gary Wright
7/18/09 – Kevin Ramey
6/20/09 – Ray Allen Kulhanek
5/16/09 – Eric Baldaccini
9/27/08 – Jason Johnson
6/21/08 – Michael Dupuy
5/10/08 – Brandon Berryman
3/1/08 – Jack Dover
9/29/07 – Brandon Berryman
8/18/07 – Travis Rilat
5/19/07 – Johnny Miller
9/30/06 – Ray Allen Kulhanek
8/19/06 – Brad Best
6/24/06 – Ray Allen Kulhanek
4/8/06 – Travis Rilat
8/20/05 – Lane Whittington
6/18/05 – Ray Allen Kulhanek
7/10/04 – Kevin Ramey

The 2011 season marks the 20th year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing for the American Sprint Car Series, with approximately 200 nights of competition at tracks throughout the nation and into Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil Sprint Car Series presented by K&N Filters, ASCS also consists of ten different Regions throughout the nation.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at