All Stars To Honor Bob Weikert With Memorial Saturday

Port Royal Speedway Logo

By Shawn Brouse

Port Royal – This Saturday, April 30, All Star Circuit of Champions Sprints Bob Weikert Memorial at Port Royal Speedway will be yet another chance for the traveling band to attempt to break into the famed winner’s circle at the historic oval. The 30-lap Weikert Memorial offers $7,100 to win and $100 to lead any of the first 29 laps plus $100 to set fast time.

No bona fide All Star has ever been able to break through at the Juniata County oval, although a host has made it inside the top-five.

Among those All Stars lucky enough to taste the front at the Port have been: Joe Gaerte, Joey Saldana, Kenny Jacobs, Dale Blaney, Kevin Huntley, Frankie Kerr, Dean Jacobs, Paul McMahan, Danny Smith and Greg Wilson.

The man the All Stars and the rest of the field will be honoring when they compete Saturday needs no introduction to sprint car or Port Royal fans, past or present.

Bob Weikert went down in history as one of the most prolific sprint car owners the nation or world has ever seen.

His famed red, white and blue Weikert’s Livestock No. 29 sprinter along with some numbered 91 and 92 at times during his decades long career is and was one of the most iconic machines the sport has ever witnessed.

As were his fabulous Beef Night promotions at area speedways during the decade of the 1990’s.

It is Weikert’s contributions to the sport, both on track and off, that the Weikert Memorial is meant to honor.

Weikert last saw his mount raced to victory lane at Port Royal back in May of 1994 when Len Krautheim III, of Penns Creek put it there.

The one and only track title his car was able to garner at Port Royal came in 1981 with Keith Kauffman of Mifflintown behind the wheel.

His cars picked up numerous wins in high profile events at the speedway over the years including five in the Tuscarora 50, three on Labor Day and one over the World of Outlaws with driver Doug Wolfgang in 1987.

Ironically, Weikert’s last win anywhere as a car owner anywhere came over the All Stars in 1997 with Hermitage chauffeur Mike Lutz at the helm.

Previous winners of the Bob Weikert Memorial at Port Royal Speedway are: Fred Rahmer, 2003, 2004; Todd Shaffer, 2005; Lance Dewease, 2006; Greg Hodnett, 2007; Jeff Shepard, 2008; and Stevie Smith, 2009. The 2010 event was lost due to weather.

Gates for Saturday’s $7,100 to win, $100 to lead a lap, 30-lap All Star Bob Weikert Memorial open at 5 PM with time trials slated for 7. Adult General Admission is $20.00 with students admitted for just $10.00.

A sweep by the winner of all 30-laps plus fast time would garner him some $10,100.

PRS 2011 – Racing into a new decade with a new attitude!
Port Royal Speedway