NCRA Sprints Invade Dodge City Raceway Park This Saturday!

2011 NCRA National Championship Racing Association logo

From David Smith Jr.

– Park City, Kansas – May 2, 2011 – It is that time of year when the National Championship Racing Association of Park City, Kansas presented by Smiley’s Racing Products sprint car division makes their annual trek out west to the beautiful Dodge City Raceway Park in Dodge City, Kansas and this coming Saturday night, May 7th, will make race number two on the 2011 race schedule.

While World of Outlaw sprint car veteran Danny Lasoski of Dover, Missouri leads the current point standings by virtue of picking up the victory in the season opener at 81 Speedway a little over one month ago, he will not be competing full-time with the series. Thus, Jon Freeman of Salina, Kansas will come into the night with a slim five point advantage over Luke Cranston of Plains, Kansas.

A couple of the series’ regulars found the season opener a difficult one and their struggles have them sitting no better than sixth in the current point standings. Former series champion Mike Peters of Wichita currently holds down the sixth spot in the points while five-time series champion Garry Lee Maier Cimarron, Kansas currently sits thirteenth. Defending series champion Jeremy Campbell of Wichita is currently tied for fourteenth in the points but with fourteen races still remaining on the 2011 race schedule, it is much too early to discount any of those former champions.

However, there are several drivers who are looking to etch their names onto the NCRA sprint car past champion’s page, which is in the midst of their 22nd consecutive season. Those drivers include Kingman, Kansas driver Patrick Stasa, Liberal’s Jason Martin, Steve Richardson also of Liberal, Scott Lehman of Hutchinson and Ryan Roberts of Aurora, Nebraska.

A strong field of rookie contenders will also be competing and will also be a threat to pick up their first ever series victory. They include leading contender Ty Williams of Liberal, Joe Wood, Jr. of Oklahoma City, Jay Russell of Elwood, Kansas and Forest Southerland of Cherryvale, Kansas.

Close to thirty drivers from four different states are expected to compete during the series first and only appearance at the three-eighths mile oval, now under the management of former series outlaw sprint car regular Tommie Estes, Jr.

The past seven NCRA sprint car events that have been held at Dodge City Raceway Park have seen seven different feature winners. They include J.D. Johnson (2010), Jason Martin (’09), Mike Peters (’09), Koby Barksdale (’08), Don Droud, Jr. (’06), Maier (’06) and Gary Wright (’05).

Dodge City Raceway Park is located at the corner of 14th Ave. and US 56 in Dodge City.

Pit gates will open at 5:00 PM with hot laps beginning at 6:30 PM. Racing is scheduled for a 7:30 PM start time. . Ticket prices for this Saturday’s race are $15 for adults. For more information contact the Dodge City Raceway Park office at 620-225-3277.

This 2011 race season for the National Championship Racing Association of Park City, Kansas presented by Smiley’s Racing Products is the 41st anniversary season for the series and the 22nd consecutive year of sanctioning sprint car races in Kansas, Oklahoma and Nebraska. For more on the NCRA sprint car series call (316) 755-1781 or check out their website

The series would like to thank the following for their partnership with the NCRA sprint car series for the 2011 race season.

2011 NCRA sprint car sponsors: Park City, Kansas, Smiley’s Racing Products, Hoosier Race Tires and Sunoco Race Fuels

Past Dodge City Raceway Park NCRA Sprint Car Feature Winners

07/05/09 Jason Martin, 05/09/09 Mike Peters, 07/19/08 Koby Barksdale, 05/03/08 Don Droud, Jr., 06/03/06 Gary Lee Maier, 08/18/06 Gary Wright, 07/08/05 Jason Martin, 05/21/05 Gary Wright, 10/02/04 Mike Woodruff, 07/02/04 Mike Woodruff