2011 usac cra old
2011 usac cra

By Lance Jennings

SANTA MARIA, CA – MAY 4, 2011… This Saturday, May 7th, the Amsoil USAC/CRA Sprint Car Series will make their return to Hanford’s Giant Chevrolet Kings Speedway. Joining the traditional 410 cubic-inch powered machines will be the IMCA Modifieds, IMCA Stock Cars, and Mini Stocks. The pit gates will open at 1:00pm, spectator gates at 5:00pm, time trials at 6:00pm, with racing to begin at 6:30pm.

“I’m looking forward to seeing these guys roar around my track!” remarked track promoter Scott Woodhouse. “I remember watching these guys as a kid and still remember all the good times I had and wanted to share that with the fans.” The popular series last competed at the Hanford facility in 2007, where “The Kruser” Cory Kruseman scored the 30-lap victory. “The Demon” Damion Gardner and Ricci Faria have also won features at the 3/8-mile clay oval.

Heading into the Hanford event, Temecula’s Mike Spencer leads the point standings and remains undefeated in the 2011 campaign. Driving Ron Chaffin’s potent #50 Madera Produce / Circle C Marketing Maxim, Spencer has three main event wins, one heat race victory, and leads the series with forty-two feature laps led. The 3-time defending champion will be looking for another victory as he looks to make USAC history with his fourth straight title.

“Dynamite” David Cardey of Riverside is second in the championship points. Piloting his #59 Circle Track Performance / Pick’s Racing Engines Viper, Cardey earned the Sander Engineering Fast Time Award and scored third at Perris on April 2nd. To date, the former California Lightning Sprint Champion has one heat race victory, one hard charger award, and three top-10 finishes. David will be looking for the Hanford 30-lap win on Saturday.

Yorba Linda’s “The Bullet” Blake Miller sits third in the point chase. Driving Mark Priestley’s #7 Roy Miller Freightlines / Sander Engineering Maxim, Miller finished second to Spencer on April 2nd. The former Rookie of the Year has three top-10 finishes and has led six feature laps in 2011. This Saturday, Blake will have his sights set on a Hanford victory.

Matt Mitchell of Yorba Linda is fourth in the USAC/CRA points. Piloting the #37 J.W. Mitchell Motorsports Maxim, backed by Mancha Realtors and Sierra Springs, Mitchell won the DJ Safety Heat Race #3 and scored fourth at Perris. The USAC Western Midget Series graduate has three top-10 finishes to his credit and will look to add a Hanford feature to his resume.

Visalia’s Greg Bragg is fifth in the point standings. Driving Tom and Laurie Sertich’s #92 Huntington Beach Glass & Mirror / Pacific Business Machine Buckley, Bragg claimed seventh on April 2nd. To date, the 3-Time California Lightning Sprint Champion has one heat race victory, one hard charger award, and three top-10 finishes. Greg will be working to put the Moose Racing entry in victory lane.

Among the other top contenders expected to be in action are “Super” Rickie Gaunt of Torrance, Yorba Linda’s Austin, Cody, and “The Ripper” Rip Williams, Huntington Beach’s Nic Faas, “Showtime” Danny Sheridan of Santa Maria, Norco’s Ronnie Gardner, Visalia’s Richard and Jace VanderWeerd, and many more.

Local 360 iron-block powered Sprint Cars are welcome to race with USAC/CRA. The 360s can run their local approved tires, but must meet series tech standards and race track muffler rules. The Amsoil USAC/CRA Sprint Car Series does not have an entry fee, but drivers must have one-way radios. In addition, the series is offering a bonus to the highest finishing 360 team. To be eligible for the $200 cash award from USAC and 20 gallons of methanol from So-Cal Performance, the owner or driver must be a USAC/CRA licensed member.

Giant Chevrolet Kings Speedway is located on the Kings County Fairgrounds at 801 S. 10th Avenue in Hanford, California. Reserved Grandstand tickets are $20 and General Grandstand tickets are $17. The track is offering a $3 discount to Seniors (55+), Military (with ID), and Children (6-12). Kids 5 and under are FREE. Advance tickets are on sale and camping is available on the fairgrounds. For more event information, visit or call (559) 584-RACE (7223).

The Amsoil USAC/CRA Sprint Car Series would like to thank Hoosier Tire, Circle Track Performance, Competition Suspension Inc., DJ Safety, Donovan Engineering, Electro Tech Powder Coating, Extreme Mufflers, Hilborn Fuel Injection, Huntington Beach Glass & Mirror, Keizer Wheels, Saldana Racing Products, and Sander Engineering for their support. For more information, visit or follow the series on facebook.
1. Mike Spencer 214; 2. David Cardey 185; 3. Blake Miller 184; 4. Matt Mitchell 163; 5. Greg Bragg 139; 6. David Bezio 117; 7. Rickie Gaunt 116; 8. Cody Williams 102; 9. Nic Faas 98; 10. Danny Sheridan 94; 11. Austin Williams 93; 12. Richard VanderWeerd 89; 13. Greg Alexander 84; 14. Ronnie Gardner 83; 15. Jace VanderWeerd 79; 16. Damion Gardner 62; 17. Rip Williams 60; 18. Bill Rose 54; 19. Cory Kruseman 52; 20. Tom Grunkemeyer 48.

May 7th – Giant Chevrolet Kings Speedway – Hanford, California