Knepper POWRi Midgets points leader, Langston tops 600cc Micros heading for Belle-Clair, Macon

POWRi logo 2011

By Tim Tuttle

MILLSTADT, Ill. (May 5, 2011)–Three top-four finishes has carried Nick Knepper into the lead of the POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget Series championship going into the fourth event of the season May 13 at Belle-Clair Speedway in Belleville, Ill. The POWRi Midgets complete the weekend by racing at Macon (Ill.) Speedway on May 14.

Knepper, of Belleville, Ill., leads Dereck King, of Vienna, Ill., 540-490. Brad Kuhn, of Avon, Ind., is third with 460, followed by Tim Siner, of Dupo, Ill., with 420 and Zach Daum, of Pocahontas, Ill., fifth with 390.

Knepper finished second in the season opener at the Southern Illinois Center’s Mini Magic Mile in Du Quoin, Ill., third at Valley Speedway in Grain Valley, Mo., and fourth at Lucas Oil Speedway in Wheatland, Mo. Knepper was fourth in the POWRi Midget championship in 2010.

King has been in the top five in all three features, fourth at Du Quoin and fifth at Grain Valley and Wheatland. He was ninth in the POWRi Midgets championship last season.

Ryan Langston, of Greenfield, Ind., leads the POWRi Speedway Motors 600cc Outlaw Micro Series going into the second event of the season at Belle-Claire on May 13. The 600cc Outlaw Micros move with the POWRi show to Macon the next night.

Langston won the season opener at Du Quoin. He has a 200-190 advantage over King. Devon Piper, of Springfield, Ill., is third with 180, followed by Joe B. Miller, of Millersville, Mo., in fourth with 160 and Kara King, of Vienna, Ill., fifth with 150.

The POWRi Midgets and 600cc Outlaw Micros will be joined by Super Late Models for the first time at Belle-Clair.

POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget Series top-10 points (after three of 30 events): 1. Nick Knepper 540, 2. Dereck King 490, 3. Brad Kuhn 460, 4. Tim Siner 420, 5. Zach Daum 390, 6. Chett Gehrke 360, 7. Tyler Robbins 350, 8. Brett Anderson 340, 9. Brad Loyet 270, 10. Austin Brown 185.

POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget Series 2011 race winners: Du Quoin–Tony Roney; Grain Valley–Brett Anderson; Wheatland–Brad Loyet.

POWRi Speedway Motors 600cc Outlaw Micro Series top-10 points (after one of 25 events): 1. Ryan Langston 200, 2. Dereck King 190, 3. Devon Piper 180, 4. Joe B. Miller 160, 5. Kara King 150, 6. Jordan Campbell 140, 7. J.B. Gilbert 130, 8. Mike Terry Jr. 110, 9. Alex Harris 100, 10. Randy Brown 80.

POWRi Speedway Motors 600cc Outlaw Micro Series 2011 race winners: Du Quoin–Ryan Langston.

For more information on POWRi Racing, go to