York Wins at Silver Dollar Speedway

silver dollar Speedway chico

From Troy Hennig

Chico, CA — (5-6-11) –Chico’s Jason York did something he had not done since 2005; win a 410 winged sprint car main event at Chico. “It’s something I don’t like a lot of people to know about,” said a smiling York in victory lane Friday night at the Silver Dollar Speedway. “There are times when you wonder if it’s ever going to happen again and thankfully we got it done tonight.” It was York’s seventh career sprint car main event win at Chico.

Not only was it just his second race of 2011 but he beat some of the best in the business on this night. Tim Kaeding, Jonathan Allard, Jason Statler and Kyle Larson were all in attendance tonight because of the following nights Dave Bradway Jr. Memorial. However, it was Sydney, Australia’s Peter Murphy who put up the toughest challenge to York. Murphy not only shadowed York for the most part of the race but passed Jason on lap 21. Murphy led the next two laps until York shot back by on the inside of turns three and four to recapture the lead. York then breezed through the final two laps to get the win. Murphy was not able to mount a challenge because he was trying to hold off Tim Kaeding for second. Kaeding passed Jason Statler on lap 17. Yet, Kaeding was not able to get around Murphy for second at the line. Statler came across the finish line in fourth while Penngrove’s Alyssa Geving had a solid run and placed fifth. It was a rare Friday night start for Geving and her team. It was reported from her father that they were up in Chico get laps in anticipation of the following Friday nights Civil War Series race.

Mason Moore held off Sean Becker to win the first heat race. Moore was one of only two drivers to use a 360 engine on this night. Brad Bumgarner and Kyle Larson each dominated their respective heat races. Jonathan Allard started the night off by turning the quickest lap at 11.702. A total of 22 sprint cars entered point race number five during the Wells Fargo / Riebes Auto Parts point championship racing.

The races tonight were presented by Mancamp, Mootz Family and Fry’s Metals. All three individuals were very helpful in getting extra money pumped in the sprint car main event. They also provided give-a-ways for the fans and children.

Tom Rolf Trucking offered $500 to the winner of an Australia versus America six-lap, four car dash. Ian Madsen, Peter Murphy, Sean Becker and Robbie Whitchurch all participated in the race. In the end it was Australia’s Peter Murphy beating Becker to the line.

Chico’s Richard Papenhausen led all 20-laps to win the dirt modified main event. A total of seven cars started the race. Papenhausen’s closest challenger was Wade Kennemore. Kennemore finished a little over two seconds behind Papenhausen at the finish line. Oreste Gonella placed in the third spot. Jeff Olschowka was fourth and Mark Abouzeid came home in the fifth spot. Papenhausen won the only heat race of the night. It was a clean sweep for the local racing hero. It was also the second week in a row Papenhausen won the main event at Chico.

The Dirt Solution Limited Late Model Series was in Chico also tonight and Jerry Bartlett held off Matt Micheli to win his first main event of 2011 at Silver Dollar Speedway. Micheli went on to finish in second. Micheli won the first main event of the year for his division. Bartlett led all 15-laps to pick up the victory. In winners circle he dedicated the win to his girlfriend Stacie “racedevil” Myers. Bartlett clean swept the night by wining the earlier lone heat race of the night. Tom Arbogast led the first three laps in the heat race until a mechanical failure sidelined the leader of the pack. Bartlett went on to beat Micheli in the heat race also.

It does not get anymore competitive than the Dwarf Cars at Chico. The traveling division brought 15 cars on this night and provided some on track magic once again. After the 20-lap main event was complete the win went to Jeremy Blackshere. While Blackshere led all the laps the race was hotly contested behind him. Ryan Winter ended up in the second spot while Mike Grenert did a spin and came back to place in the third spot. The always competitive Kevin Bender was fourth. Time Jenkins started on the front row and ended up in the fifth spot. Winter and Grenert each won their respective heat race.



Sprint Cars

Fast Time: Jonathan Allard – 11.702

Heat 1: Mason Moore, Sean Becker, Jason York Alyssa Geving, Tim Kaeding

Heat 2: Brad Bumgarner, Jason Statler, Robert Stice, Robbie Whitchurch, Andy Forsberg

Heat 3: Kyle Larson, RC Smith, Peter Murphy, Ian Madsen, Roger Crockett

A Main: York, Murphy, Kaeding, Statler, Geving, Crockett, Tyler Wolf, Becker, Forsberg, Bumgarner, Stice, John Michael Bunch, Johnny Gray, Moore

Dirt Modifieds

Heat 1: Richard Papenhausen, Wade Kennemore, Ryan McDaniel, Mark Abouzeid, Oreste Gonella

A Main: Papenhausen, Kennemore, Gonella, Jeff Olschowka, Abouzeid, Kevin Pendergrass, McDaniel

Late Models

Heat 1: Jerry Bartlett, Matt Micheli, Matt Magenheimer, Ken Micheli, George Magenheimer

A Main: Bartlett, M. Micheli, David Larabee, K. Micheli, M. Magenheimer, G. Magenheimer, Alan Pace

Dwarf Cars

Heat 1: Ryan Winter, Jeremy Blackshere, Kevin Bender, Jason Crosby, Scott Dahlgren

Heat 2: Mike Grenert, Patrick Weger, Neil Stinson, Tim Jenkins, Doug Martin

A Main: Blackshere, Winter, Grenert, Bender, Jenkins, Martin, Dahlgren, Curtis Romero, Chase Nieman, Crosby, Josh Hiatt, Stinson, John Chrisman, Kelly Gutches, Weger