Monster Energy™ Sprint Series Adds Four Big Dates to Schedule!


By Bill W

May 11, 2011 – The Monster Energy™ Sprint Series is riding a wave of momentum, and four big events have been added to the schedule for 2011! Dates are planned for Tri-City Speedway, St. Francois County Raceway, Macon Speedway and a co-sanctioned event with the IRA in LaSalle in September.

On Friday, June 17, the series will hit the Tri-City Speedway. The always entertaining 3/8 mile oval in Pontoon Beach, Illinois will play host to a feature paying $2,000 to the winner. The following night completes an exciting weekend, as the best of the Monster Energy™ series will take on the regulars at the St. Francois County Raceway in Farmington, Missouri!

On Saturday, July 30, a “Bullring Weekend” will be underway when the Macon Speedway in Macon, Illinois will join the already scheduled event on Sunday, July 31, at Shepp’s Speedway in Alexander.

Finally, two touring series will collide at the LaSalle Speedway in LaSalle on Sunday, September 25, when the Interstate Racing Association and the Monster Energy™ Sprint Series co-sanction an event for the first time! The event is sure to bring some heavy hitters to the exciting 3/8 mile banked oval, as it will compete a weekend that includes the already scheduled $4,000 to win show at the 34 Raceway in West Burlington, Iowa!

Meanwhile, plans for Friday’s $2,500 to win event at Jacksonville are underway. The tentative driver roster can be found below. Confirmations from Terry McCarl, the winner of the season opener, Danny Lasoski, 2010 ASCS National “Ronald Laney Hard Charger” Brady Bacon, and former Farmington champ, Tommy Worley Jr., are the latest entries. More are expected in a count that already exceeds 30 cars!

To check out more information on upcoming events, Rules and Procedures, Drivers, Schedules, Updates and More for the Monster Energy Sprint Car Series, visit the series’ website at!

“The Source” Previews This Weekend’s Racing!

“The Source” is a free publication going out to Jacksonville, Illinois residents. This week, find features on the Jacksonville Speedway, the Monster Energy™ Sprint Series, car owner, Rick Northrop, and more. Click on the link below (it is a big file)…

Click to access 019_wk_05-12-2011.pdf

Videos from Jacksonville Speedway and the Opener at 34 Raceway to Pump You Up for Friday!

The links…

Tentative Jacksonville Driver Roster for May 13!

1m, Jim Moughan Jr., Springfield, IL

2K, Ryan Kempin, House Springs, MO

5, Tiffany Wyzard, Williamsville, IL

6, Ryan Beechler, McKinney, TX

6R, Ryan Bunton, Morton, IL

10s, Jeremy Standridge, Springfield, IL

14, Donnie Beechler, Springfield, IL

14P, Kaley Gharst, Decatur, IL

21x, Joey Moughan, Springfield, IL

22, Bret Tripplett, Mason City, IL

23, Robbie Standridge, Springfield, IL

28, Justin Springer, Pekin, IL

33, Danny Lasoski, Dover, MO

35, Jimmy Hurley, Springfield, IL

42, Cory Bruns, Lincoln, IL

44, AJ Bruns, Lincoln, IL

47, Brett Samonds, Springfield, IL

51, Mike Hess, Springfield, IL

51J, Ryan Jamison, Mediapolis, IA

52F, Logan Faucon, Elkhart, IL

53H, Matt Harms, Lacon, IL

55, Terry McCarl, Altoona, IA

65, Jordan Goldesberry, Springfield, IL

77u, Chris Urish, Elkhart, IL

83, Korey Weyant, Springfield, IL

84, Ben Wagoner, Emden, IL

95, Tommy Rockwell, Towanda, IL

96, Nathan Charron, Lincoln, IL

97, Tommy Worley Jr., Bismarck, MO

99, Jimmy Davies, Oquawka, IL

99x, Brady Bacon, Broken Arrow, OK

Updated Monster Energy™ Sprint Car Series Point Standings (top 20)

Pos. Number Name Hometown Points

1. 21x Joey Moughan Springfield, IL 96

2. 12H Jerrod Hull Sikeston, MO 79

3. 55 Terry McCarl Altoona, IA 74

4. 83 Korey Weyant Springfield, IL 71

5. 44 AJ Bruns Lincoln, IL 66

6. 17A Austin McCarl Altoona, IA 65

7. 1m Jim Moughan Jr. Springfield, IL 62

8. 84 Ben Wagoner Emden, IL 52

9. 49 Josh Schneiderman West Burlington, IA 48

10. 22 Robbie Standridge Springfield, IL 43

11. 95 Tommy Rockwell Towanda, IL 42

77u Chris Urish Elkhart, IL 42

10s Jeremy Standridge Springfield, IL 42

14. 52F Logan Faucon Elkhart, IL 40

15. 28 Justin Springer Pekin, IL 39

16. 35 Jimmy Hurley Springfield, IL 37

53H Matt Harms Lacon, IL 37

18. 65 Jordan Goldesberry Springfield, IL 33

47 Brett Samonds Springfield, IL 33

20. 99 Jimmy Davies Oquawka, IL 31

12 Brian Rieck Troy, MO 31

2011 Monster Energy™ Sprint Car Series Tentative Schedule

Saturday, April 23 – 34 Raceway – $2,500 to win (Danny Lasoski, Dover, MO)

Friday, May 13 – Jacksonville Speedway – $2,500 to win (Jacksonville, IL)

Friday, May 27 – Fayette County Speedway (Brownstown, IL)

Friday, June 17 – Tri-City Speedway – $2,000 to win (Pontoon Beach, IL)

Saturday, June 18 – St. Francois County Raceway (Farmington, MO)

Friday, July 1 – Jacksonville Speedway – $2,500 to win Leon Smith Memorial (Jacksonville, IL)

Friday, July 8 – Lincoln Speedway (Lincoln, IL)

Saturday, July 30 – Macon Speedway (Macon, IL)

Sunday, July 31 – Shepp’s Speedway (Alexander, IL)

Friday, August 19 – Jacksonville Speedway (Jacksonville, IL)

Friday, September 2 – Lincoln Speedway (Lincoln, IL)

Saturday, September 17 – Spoon River Speedway – Tom Knowles Memorial (Canton, IL)

Saturday, September 24 – 34 Raceway – $4,000 to win (West Burlington, IA)

Sunday, September 25 – LaSalle Speedway – co-sanctioned with IRA (LaSalle, IL)

Friday, September 30 – Jacksonville Speedway – Season Championship (Jacksonville, IL)