KISS Series Heads To Lawrenceburg Speedway

kiss King of Indiana Sprint Series

By Mike O’Leary

May 15, 2011 – With one round in the books and another washed out by spring rains, the King of Indiana Sprint Series travels to Lawrenceburg Speedway for the third round on Saturday, May 21. A couple hours north, at a race track celebrating its 100th anniversary, they call it Pole Day. But on the 3/8-mile dirt oval just minutes west of Cincinnati, it’s Race Night.

Brady Short, the defending race winner at Lawrenceburg, tops the KISS points following his victory at Bloomington this year. But a year ago, Short took the checkers after a thrilling battle with Jon Stanbrough and Justin Grant. Stanbrough ran second, and John Memmer third, as Grant was forced to retire after bouncing off the wall and then losing his hood. Short is the only driver to have edged Stanbrough for a KISS championship in the last five years, earning his crown in 2009.

With his victory in the opening round, Short holds a slight, five-point lead over Bobby East, with Stanbrough only five points behind them. Dave Darland and Shane Cottle fill the top-5 and remain within 30 points of the leader. With four events still remaining, any of the drivers in the top ten are still in the race for the KISS champion’s helmet. The second five includes drivers extremely capable of winning not only any race, but also the KISS title: Jerry Coons Jr., Casey Shuman, Bryan Clauson, Chris Windom and Robert Ballou. Tracy Hines and Hunter Schuerenberg have to be considered among the favorites when the teams unload on Saturday, as both have already scored victories at the ‘Burg this year.

Saturday’s KISS program at Lawrenceburg Speedway is a special event, Youth Sports Night at the Races. Any youngster who is a youth sports player and wears their uniform will receive free admission. The action begins with hot laps at 6 pm. The pit gate opens at 4 o’clock, and general admission at 5. Admission tickets are $15, youngsters 7 – 12 are just $7, while those 6 and younger are admitted free. Pit passes are $30. The program will include UMP modifieds and AMSA mini-sprints. Information and directions can be found on the web at

KISS events pay $2,500 to win, $250 to start the feature and the B-Main pays $100 to the first six drivers who do not transfer to the feature and $50 to all remaining B-Main starters. Drivers draw for heat race starting positions, and features will be 30 laps. Under KISS guidelines, each track is responsible for conducting the event in accordance with their track rules. The $3,600 point fund awards the top five point finishers, with $1,000 going to the 2011 King of Indiana Sprints. For the fifth year, Sprint Car & Midget Magazine is sponsoring the KISS Champion’s helmet, with original artwork by Van Horn Tint & Accessories.

May 6 Bloomington Speedway Brady Short
May 13 Gas City I-69 Speedway Rain
May 21 Lawrenceburg Speedway
June 19 Tri-State Speedway
June 25 Paragon Speedway
June 26 Kokomo Speedway

Current KISS Points: 1. Brady Short 230, 2. Bobby East 225, 3. Jon Stanbrough 220, 4. Dave Darland 206, 5. Shane Cottle 202, 6. Jerry Coons Jr. 194, 7. Casey Shuman 190, 8. Bryan Clauson 187, 9. Chris Windom 184, 10. Robert Ballou 181