that terre haute action track
that terre haute action track

From Dick Jordan

Indianapolis, IN — (May 23rd, 2011) — Thursday night’s First National Bank “Tony Hulman Classic” will be the 41st in the storied race’s history at the Terre Haute (Ind.) Action Track and should be one of the most competitive in its history.

Defending race champion Jerry Coons Jr. of Tucson, Ariz. will be in a new ride, while Daron Clayton of Sikeston, Mo., seeking his first win in the race, will be in the famed Hoffman Auto Racing entry.

USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car point leader Levi Jones of Olney, Ill. will try to become the race’s first four-time winner after scoring victories in 2005, 2008 and 2009. He is 17 points ahead of Damion Gardner in the latest series standings as he seeks to become the first five-time USAC National Sprint Car Champion.

J.J. Yeley is the youngest winner of the race, winning in 1997 at the age of 21. A number of drivers will challenge that record this Thursday. Yeley was also the last “rookie” to win the race.

Terry Pletch set the record for winning from the worst starting spot – 21st – in 1999 and at age 52 remains the race’s eldest winner.

Last year’s 30-lap race produced the most lead changes, featuring six after lap one!

Chris Windom of Canton, Ill., who finished fifth in the 2009 Terre Haute classic, passed Jon Stanbrough on lap 24 and led the final seven laps to win Friday night’s “Larry Rice Classic” USAC AMSOIL National Sprint car feature at the Bloomington Speedway. Trailing Windom’s Sprint Mart/Claxton Engines Maxim at the checkered flag were Stanbrough, Kyle Larson, fast qualifier Dave Darland and Jones.


1-Levi Jones-289; 2-Damion Gardner-272; 3-Jon Stanbrough-254; 4-Bryan Clauson-252; 5-Chris Windom-237; 6-Hunter Schuerenberg-232; 7-Blake Fitzpatrick-219; 8-Bobby East-192; 9-Robert Ballou-184; 10-Dave Darland-180.