From Anderson Speedway

ANDERSON, Ind. (May 23, 2011) – Five former champions and a talented list of challengers are set for the largest purse ever in the 62nd Pay Less Little 500 at Anderson Speedway on Saturday Night, May 29. Over $123,000 will be up for grabs in the richest asphalt Sprint Car race in the country with the winning team earning a minimum of $25,000.

The former winners of the prestigious Pay Less Little 500 that are returning this year are led by nine-time winner Eric Gordon, who won last year’s event. Other previous champions that have filed entries include Kokomo’s Shane Cottle (2008) Brian Tyler (2007), three-time Pay Less Little 500 champion Jeff Bloom (1972, 77, 91) and 1999 winner Chet Fillip.

Other notable drivers that plan on competing include 2006 pole winner Aaron Pierce, who has been runner-up twice to Gordon in 2004 and 2007. Canada’s Ryan Litt has produced three consecutive top 10-finishes with a best of fourth in 2008. Jacob Wilson has notched two top five finishes to become a race contender. Donnie Adams Jr. finished in third position in 2009 and captured his first pole position in 2007.

Warsaw’s Tony Elliott will compete in his 18th Little 500. Elliott has notched six top-five finishes with a best finish of second. 2004 race runner-up Tim Cox aims to make his eighth start. 12-time starter Denny England returns after a seven year absence. England has posted two top-five finishes and nine top 10s.

Tony Hunt, of Lincoln, Calif., a five-time champion in the USAC returns this year for his ninth Little 500 appearance. He has produced four top-five performances with a best showing of second in 2004. Ohio’s Jimmy McCune earned last year’s Must See Racing 60 victory and has collected two top 10 Little 500 finishes.

Many other talented drivers will be part of the 63rd Pay less Little 500 activities this weekend.

Pay Less Little 500 week kicks off on Wednesday, May 25 with the Must See Racing Xtremem Spring Car Series featured in the Must See Racing presented by Sam Pierce Chevrolet. The WMDH ThunderCars will also be part of the racing program.

First round qualifications for the 63rd Pay Less Little 500 will take place on Thursday, May 26, beginning at 1:30 p.m. with the 33-car field set during second round of qualifications on Friday afternoon. On Saturday, May 28, the 63rd Pay Less Little 500 goes green approximately at 8 p.m.

Tickets are available for the historic 63rd Pay Less Little 500 at $28 for reserved seating. For more information, contact the Anderson Speedway Ticket Office at (765) 642-0206.