Monster Energy™ Sprint Series Has Big Weekend in Store!


By Bill W

June 14, 2011 – The Monster Energy™ Sprint Car Series presented by the Midwest Open Wheel Association has a big weekend ahead with a pair of dates in the St. Louis area. On Friday night, they attack the racy Tri-City Speedway 3/8-mile oval in Pontoon Beach, Illinois. On Saturday, they will challenge the local stars at the St. Francois County Raceway in Farmington, Missouri.

The dates will mark the initial and only scheduled appearance for the series at either venue. The Tri-City Speedway has played host to many open-wheel events over the years, and was reconfigured from its original ½-mile several years ago. Since then, the action has been extreme, and the Monster Energy™ sprints are ready to hit the banks!

Indy 500 veteran Donnie Beechler, two-time and defending Knoxville Raceway track champion, Brian Brown, multi-time MASS champ, Jerrod Hull, two-time and defending Sprint Invaders champion, Kaley Gharst, defending Jacksonville Speedway champ, AJ Bruns, and defending St. Francois County Raceway champion, Jimmy Hurley lead the series into Pontoon Beach!

On Saturday night, the series will move on to the St. Francois County Raceway in Farmington to take on the regulars there. The unique configuration at SFCR will crown a worthy winner at the end of the night! Hurley won the season opener, but lately, it has been all Tommy Worley Jr., as he has picked up three feature wins in a row. Tim and Joey Montgomery will also be looking to keep the home cooking going at SFCR!

Gates open at 5 p.m. at Tri-City Speedway, with racing scheduled for 7 p.m. Tickets are $15 for ages 13 and up, while those 12 and under are FREE. For more information on Tri-City Speedway, visit!

Gates open at 4 p.m. at SFCR Saturday, with hot laps at 6 p.m. and racing at 7 p.m. Tickets are $10, with kids 12 and under FREE. For more information on SFCR, visit!

To check out more information on upcoming events, Rules and Procedures, Drivers, Schedules, Updates and More for the Monster Energy Sprint Car Series presented by the Midwest Open Wheel Association, visit the series’ website at!

Tentative Driver List for Tri-City Speedway (Many also expected in Farmington)

1m, Jim Moughan Jr., Springfield, IL

5, Tiffany Wyzard, Williamsville, IL

6R, Ryan Bunton, Morton, IL

10s, Jeremy Standridge, Springfield, IL

12, Jerrod Hull, Sikeston, MO

14, Donnie Beechler, Springfield, IL

14P, Kaley Gharst, Decatur, IL

21, Brian Brown, Grain Valley, MO

21x, Joey Moughan, Springfield, IL

22, Robbie Standridge, Springfield, IL

22, Bret Tripplett, Lincoln, IL

28, Justin Springer, Pekin, IL

28, Jason Keith, Fredericktown, MO

35, Jimmy Hurley, Springfield, IL

44, AJ Bruns, Lincoln, IL

47, Brett Samonds, Springfield, IL

51, Mike Hess, Springfield, IL

52F, Logan Faucon, Elkhart, IL

65, Jordan Goldesberry, Springfield, IL

77u, Chris Urish, Elkhart, IL

83, Korey Weyant, Springfield, IL

84, Ben Wagoner, Emden, IL

90, Patrick Budde, Bartelso, IL

95, Tommy Rockwell, Towanda, IL

96, Nathan Charron, Lincoln, IL

98, JC Bland, Springfield, IL

Updated Monster Energy™ Sprint Car Series Point Standings (top 20)

Pos. Number Name Hometown Points

1. 55 Terry McCarl Altoona, IA 170

2. 21x Joey Moughan Springfield, IL 142

3. 35 Jimmy Hurley Springfield, IL 132

4. 83 Korey Weyant Springfield, IL 131

5. 12 Jerrod Hull Sikeston, MO 128

6. 77u Chris Urish Elkhart, IL 123

7. 10s Jeremy Standridge Springfield, IL 119

8. 84 Ben Wagoner Emden, IL 118

9. 22 Robbie Standridge Springfield, IL 117

10. 1m Jim Moughan Jr. Springfield, IL 116

11. 44 AJ Bruns Lincoln, IL 102

12. 51 Mike Hess Springfield, IL 92

13. 33 Danny Lasoski Dover, MO 88

14. 52F Logan Faucon Elkhart, IL 79

53H Matt Harms Lacon, IL 79

16. 47 Brett Samonds Springfield, IL 75

65 Jordan Goldesberry Springfield, IL 75

18. 22 Brett Tripplett Lincoln, IL 69

19. 99 Jimmy Davies Oquawka, IL 66

20. 17A Austin McCarl Altoona, IA 65

42 Cory Bruns Lincoln, IL 65

2011 Monster Energy™ Sprint Car Series Tentative Schedule

Saturday, April 23 – 34 Raceway – $2,500 to win (Danny Lasoski, Dover, MO)

Friday, May 20 – Jacksonville Speedway – $2,500 to win (Terry McCarl, Altoona, IA)

Friday, May 27 – Fayette County Speedway (Feature Postponed)

Friday, June 17 – Tri-City Speedway – $2,000 to win (Pontoon Beach, IL)

Saturday, June 18 – St. Francois County Raceway (Farmington, MO)

Friday, July 1 – Jacksonville Speedway – $2,500 to win Leon Smith Memorial (Jacksonville, IL)

Friday, July 8 – Lincoln Speedway (Lincoln, IL)

Saturday, July 30 – Macon Speedway (Macon, IL)

Sunday, July 31 – Shepp’s Speedway (Alexander, IL)

Friday, August 19 – Jacksonville Speedway (Jacksonville, IL)

Friday, September 2 – Lincoln Speedway (Lincoln, IL)

Saturday, September 17 – Spoon River Speedway – Tom Knowles Memorial (Canton, IL)

Saturday, September 24 – 34 Raceway – $4,000 to win (West Burlington, IA)

Sunday, September 25 – LaSalle Speedway – co-sanctioned with IRA (LaSalle, IL)

Friday, September 30 – Jacksonville Speedway – Season Championship (Jacksonville, IL)