urc United Racing Company Logo

From URC

It was just a matter of time. Davie “No Panic” Franek of Wantage, NJ scored his first career Rislone URC Sprint Series feature win in convincing style Saturday night on Taylor & Messick Night at the Delaware International Speedway. Franek won the opening heat race of the night then led the entire twenty-five laps to pocket $2,000 for the URC win. It was the eighth race of the season and Franek became URC’s seventh different feature winner of the season.

The three heat race events were won by Franek, Becca Anderson and Randy West. During the running of the third heat race, West established the LikeWise fast time of the night.

In the URC feature event, “No Panic” Franek quickly established himself as the man to beat as he ran to ride from outside pole sitter Becca Anderson. Seven time URC Champion Curt Michael started fifth and advanced his Valley Forge Inc sprinter into third by lap three. Franek held a comfortable lead over Anderson as Michael, Randy West and Josh Weller followed in the top five.

At the halfway point of the race the top five remained unchanged as all eyes were watching JJ Grasso, who was threading in way through traffic after starting last in the feature. Grasso failed to qualify in his heat race after a tangle with Robbie Stillwaggon. Grasso was on a mission and racing in eighth on lap fourteen.

On lap eighteen of the feature, the red flag was displayed after Steve Whary and Kramer Williamson tangled and flipped in turn one. Both driver walked away uninjured however their cars were badly damaged.

With the green flag waiving on the restart, “No Panic” Franek ran to hide from the rest of the field. Fourth place runner Josh Weller offered a challenge to Curt Michael as JJ Grasso was all over Randy West for the sixth position.

At the drop of the checker flag it was Davie Franke followed by Becca Anderson, Curt Michael, Josh Weller and Randy West. Making up the top ten were JJ Grasso, Ed Aikin, Andy Best, Art Liedl and Mark Bitner.

FEATURE FINISH: Davie Franek, Becca Anderson, Curt Michael, Josh Weller, Randy West, JJ Grasso, Ed Aikin, Andy Best, Art Liedl, Mark Bitner, Robbie Stillwaggon, Tim Hogue, Kramer Williamson, Dave Martin, Jonathan Swanson, Tim Higgins, Dave Ely, Rory Janney, Jeff Fithian, Steve Whary, Kevin Darling, Joe Zuczek.

Fred’s Trailer Parts Hard Charger – – – JJ Grasso Advanced 14 spots
LikeWise Fast Time of the Night- – – Randy West
Engler Tool & Machine 1st Heat- – – Davie Franek
Brad Penn Oil 2nd Heat- – Becca Anderson-
Pioneer Pole Building 3rd Heat- – Randy West