Chris Windom. - Mike Campbell Photo

From Bloomington Speedway

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. – Race fans packed the stands and race teams flooded the pits for the 23rd Annual Sheldon Kinser Memorial and JD Byrider Night at Bloomington Speedway on Friday, June 24. Racers flocked to the historic oval to pay tribute to sprint car legend and Bloomington native Sheldon Kinser.

The event featured adrenaline-pumping action from the Grimes Pools and Spas Sprint Cars, the O’Neal Wood Products UMP Modfieds and the Tire and Wheel Center UMP Super Stocks.

Chris Windom, of Canton Ill., surged into the lead of the 23rd Annual Sheldon Kinser Memorial Grimes Pools and Spas Sprint Car feature and dared the competition to wrestle the lead away from him. Windom hustled his car around the inside of the red clay oval and never yielded the lead to take home the $4,000 prize. Behind Windom, Jonathan Hendrick, of Fortville Ind., dueled with Keith Bloom, of Anderson Calif., for second position with Bloom taking the spot after a late restart. Several caution periods set up exciting dashes for position throughout the race. Current Grimes Pools and Spas Sprint Car points leader, Brady Short, of Bedford Ind., was involved in an early incident that sent him to the tail of the field and raced his way all the way to the sixth finishing position.

Brian Yeatman, of Spencer Ind., started from the outside of the front row and jumped into the lead early in the O’Neal Wood Products UMP Modified feature race. Yeatman set a blistering pace early in the feature before tripping up and spinning in Turn Four. He yielded the lead to Richie Lex, of Morgantown Ind. Lex, who had fought hard through the entire night. Lex then dueled with Karlie Holt, of Orleans Ind., before pulling away after a late race restart and cruised to victory.

Jeremy Hines, of Seymour Ind., started from the pole position in the Tire and Wheel Center UMP Super Stocks feature race and led wire to wire in a dominating performance. In a feature plagued by caution periods, Hines had to contest with a lone challenger in a hard charging Chris Hillman, of Camby Ind. Hillman had started from the sixth position and quickly moved through the leaders before chasing Hines through restarts and lapped traffic. Hines cleanly maneuvered through traffic and held off Hillman by nearly two car-lengths to win. The next scheduled night of racing at Bloomington Speedway is Bloomington Power Sports Night on Friday, July 1. The ever-popular event features the Grimes Pools & Spas Sprint Cars, the Tire & Wheel Center UMP Super Stocks, the O’Neal Wood Products UMP Modifieds and the Chad’s Towing and Recovery Hornets. Fans can also look forward to Bloomington Speedway’s 26th Annual Gigantic Fireworks Display. Gates open at 5:30 p.m., hot laps start at 6:30 p.m. with racing getting under way at 7:30 p.m. General admission tickets are $12 with children 12 and under FREE with a paying adult.


Grimes Pools & Spas Sprint Cars

Heat 1 Winner: Chris Windom

Heat 2 Winner: Jonathan Hendrick

Heat 3 Winner: Hunter Schuerenberg

Heat 4 Winner: Damion Gardner

Heat 5 Winner: Keith Bloom Jr

“C Main” Winner: Jesse Cramer

“B Main” Winner: Robert Ballou

Feature: 1.) Chris Windom; 2.) Keith Bloom; 3.) Jonathan Hendrick; 4.) Chris Babcock; 5.) Shane Cottle; 6.) Brady Short; 7.) Brent Beauchamp; 8.) Robert Ballou; 9.) Dave Darland; 10.) Jon Stanbrough; 11.) Ty Deckard; 12.) Hunter Shuerenberg; 13.) Andrew Elson; 14.) Damion Gardner; 15.) Chad Boespflug; 16.) Bobby Stines; 17.) Blake Fitzpatrick; 18.) Braylon
Fitzpatrick; 19.) Lance Grimes; 20.) Chris Gurley

O’Neal Wood Products UMP Modifieds

Heat 1 Winner: Broc Burton

Heat 2 Winner: Brian Yeatman

Feature: 1.) Richie Lex; 2.) Karlie Holt; 3.) Chad Combs; 4.) Matt Bex; 5.) Jerry Davis; 6.) Kenny Carmichael Sr; 7.) Bennie Smith Jr; 8.) Brian Yeatman; 9.) Bradley Sterrett; 10.) Justin Bex; 11.) Josh Harris; 12.) Broc Burton; 13.) Clint DeMoss; 14.) Nathan Voorhies

Tire & Wheel Center UMP Super Stocks

Heat 1 Winner: Chris Hillman

Heat 2 Winner: Jeremy Hines

Heat 3 Winner: Brad Cummings

Feature: 1.) Jeremy Hines; 2.) Chris Hillman; 3.) Brad Cummings; 4.) Troy Clark; 5.) Jake Byers; 6.) Dave Hill; 7.) Jack Frye; 8.) Dewayne Gross; 9.) Steve Hollars; 10.) Kevin Arthur; 11.) Jeremy Carpenter; 12.) Kenny Niflis; 13.) Travis Todd; 14.) John Trowbridge; 15.) Ked Hollars Jr; 16.)