Jason York Wins Second Main Event of Year at Chico; Simas Earns First Win

silver dollar Speedway chico

By Troy Hennig

CHICO, CA – JUNE 25, 2011…Chico’s Jason York should be sponsored by a haircut chain. After leading all 25-laps Friday night at the Silver Dollar Speedway in Chico, York confessed in victory lane, “I had a good feeling about tonight. Last month when I won here I just got a hair cut and I just got one this week so I think next I am going to show up bald,” joked York. Sounds like Supercuts or Great Clips should be listening.

With the win York has now won his eighth career main event at his home track and the second of the year. “I have to thank my team and family for allowing me the chance to race out here on Friday nights,” said York. It was almost a clean sweep by York who earlier in qualifying turned the fastest lap at a 12.539.

Four divisions raced during the Wells Fargo point championship race number seven. Chico’s Miller Glass was the event sponsor.

York took advantage of his front row starting spot and grabbed the early lead over Sean Becker. The two former champions went at it hard the first few laps. On lap five York extended his lead to four car lengths. On lap six Andy Forsberg came up to challenge Becker for the second spot. In turn four Becker drifted wide and Forsberg slid under him. Once Forsberg passed Becker he was not able to make a charge on York. At the finish line York held nearly a three-second advantage over Forsberg. Becker finished third. Brett Miller came home in the fourth spot. Ian Madsen rounded out the top five. Kyle Hirst and Robert Stice each won eight lap heat races.

What’s not to like about Taylor Simas. He’s got a great personality. He is an amazing athlete and rocks the dark hair curls like nobody around the speedway. Tonight he added main event winner to his resume. Simas led all 20 laps to win the wingless spec sprint main event. On the original start Simas beat Terry Schank Jr. into turn one. From there on it was lights out for the Chico State University student. Jimmy Sills made his presence known about half way through the event. Simas survived a late race restart and went on to win the event. “It feels good to win back to back main events,” said Simas. He was referring to his win at Marysville Raceway Park the Saturday before tonight. Orland’s BJ Martin was the biggest mover and shaker of the race. After crashing his car in an earlier heat race, Martin returned in the main event to put on a great show for the fans. He started eighth and ran his way up to a fourth place finish. Sills finished in the second spot. Schank Jr. held down the third spot. Rowdy McClennon rounded out the top five. McClennon and Jimmy Sills were victorious in heat race action.

Kevin Lesch came into the night as the new point leader of the Street Stock division. He left the speedway with a firm grip on the championship after winning the 20 lap main event. The race provided the most excitement of the night. Lesch had an epic battle with Phil Marino that at times brought the crowd to their feet rooting on each driver. Even though Lesch led every lap it was a hard fought win. In fact, there was a sequence where Marin passed Lesch going into turn one but his momentum carried him up the track and Lesch was able to pass him on the bottom. Lapped traffic also made this race very entertaining. Jake Van Tol returned to his first race of the season. He started ninth and finished third. It was great to see him back behind the wheel of his familiar #26. Shawn Smith was also charging tonight at the track. He started in the sixth spot and at one point had moved into the third spot. Ultimately smith wound up finishing fourth. The street stocks have become one of the most popular divisions this year and once again provided some great side-by-side racing. Kevin Ward and Marino each won the eight lap heat races.

Ryan Winter made the move of the night. The Dwarf Car hot-shoe passed Mark Biscarro with three laps to go in the main event. Winter went on to lead the final three circuits for the win. Winter also won the first heat race crediting him with a clean sweep of the night. Winter charged from his fifth place starting spot. On lap nine he was third. On lap 16 he was in second. On the ensuing restart he drove around Biscarro for the lead. The race had been dominated by Kevin Bender. He is as good as it gets at Silver Dollar Speedway. Bender led the race up until lap 16 when he was collected by a slower car. Benders dwarf car came to a stop on the front stretch causing a yellow. Bender came all the way back to finish fifth. Brian Quilty turned in his usual solid performance and finished third. Quilty also won his heat race. Scott Dahlgren came home in the fourth spot.

Racing resumes next Friday night, July 1st, with Riebes Auto Parts night. For more information please visit us at www.silverdollarspeedway.com. Follow us on Twitter at sdspeedway and on Facebook.


Sprint Cars

Fast Time: Jason York – 12.539

Heat 1: Kyle Hirst, Ian Madsen, Robbie Whitchurch, York, Miller

Heat 2: Robert Stice, Mason Moore, Tyler Wolf, Sean Becker, Andy Forsberg

Main: York, Forsberg, Becker, Miller, Madsen, Wolf, Whitchurch, Hirst, Moore, Josh Ruhs

Wingless Spec Sprints

Heat 1: Rowdy McClennon, Terry Schank Jr., Braedon Enos, Angelique Bell, Eddy Lewis

Heat 2: Jimmy Sills, Taylor Simas, Ron LaPlant, Mike Bakkie, BJ Martin

A Main: Simas, Sills, Schank, Martin, McClennon, LaPlant, Bell, Lewis, Mike Bakkie, Kyle Bakkie