C.J. Johnson leads NCRA Sprinters into Independence Day Stop at 81 Speedway!

2011 NCRA National Championship Racing Association logo

By David Smith Jr.

– Park City, Kansas – June 26, 2011 – On the quest of his second career series championship, C.J. Johnson of Quinter, Kansas leads the National Championship Racing Association of Park City, Kansas presented by Smiley’s Racing Products sprint car division back to 81 Speedway in Park City this coming Independence Day, Monday night. This event is the makeup for the rained out May30th event.

C.J., who won his first and only NCRA championship back in 2000, will come into the evening with a 45 point lead over five-time series champion Garry Lee Maier of Dodge City, Kansas. Jason Martin of Liberal is quietly in the third position in the point standings just 125 points out of the lead while 2009 series champion Mike Peters of Wichita sits fourth in the point standings. Defending series champion Jeremy Campbell of Wichita sits fifth in the point standings.

Amazingly, out of the top five in the point standings, only Maier has reached victory lane thus far in 2011, a season that has seen five different drivers have reaching victory lane in the six events that have been held. The only repeat winner on the season has been Danny Lasoski of Dover, Missouri, who picked up the victory at the last event held, which was at 81 Speedway back on June 19th along with the season opener at 81 Speedway back on April 2nd.

Patrick Stasa and Jon Freeman are tied for the sixth position in the point standings while Luke Cranston, Taylor Velasquez and Jeff Stasa round out the top ten.

Pit gates for this Independence Day NCRA sprint car event will open at 5:00 PM with racing set for a 7:00 PM start time. Grandstand admission is just $9 for adults.

81 Speedway is located north of Wichita on I-135 to exit 16, then .7 mile west on 77th St. in Park City. For more race and ticket information contact the 81 Speedway office (316) 755-1781.

For more information on the 41st anniversary season for the National Championship Racing Association of Park City, Kansas presented by Smiley’s Racing Products, find them at their new online address www.racencra.com or call the series office (316) 755-1781.

The series would like to take this time to thank their sprint car partners and sponsors for the 2011 race season:

Park City, Kansas, Smiley’s Racing Products, Hoosier Racing Tires, Sunoco Race Fuels

Contingency Sponsors: Saldana Racing Products, The Brake Man

81 Speedway Past NCRA sprint car feature winners:, Danny Lasoski 06/19/11, Danny Lasoski 04/02/11, Jeremy Campbell 10/09/10, Jason Martin 06/20/10, Jason Johnson 05/30/10, Sherman Davis 04/10/10, Jack Dover 10/24/09, Mike Peters 08/02/09, Jason Johnson 05/25/09, Tony Bruce, Jr. 05/09/09, Brian Brown 09/27/08, Mike Peters 08/16/08, Derek Drown 06/14/08, Mike Chadd 06/07/08, J.D. Johnson 04/19/08, Garry Lee Maier 07/27/07, Andy Shouse 07/03/07, Garry Lee Maier 06/04/06, Preston Peebles 08/18/05, Danny Wood 05/02/05, Andy Shouse 05/09/04, Michael Woodruff 06/15/03, Steve King 05/26/02, Garry Lee Maier 09/01/01, John Blurton 09/02/00, Steve King 09/04/99, Clay Bontrager 10/11/98, Mike Peters 08/02/97, Kirby Hagens 10/06/96, Clay Bontrager 08/03/96, Garry Lee Maier 07/29/95, Mike Peters 08/13/94, Garry Lee Maier 07/09/94, Mike Peters 06/18/94, Clay Bontrager 10/02/93, Mike Peters 09/04/03, Clay Bontrager 08/14/93, Garry Lee Maier 07/03/93, Mike Chadd 06/12/93, Larry Neighbors 05/30/93, Garry Lee Maier 10/03/92, Scott Brown 07/18/92, Garry Lee Maier 07/18/92, Clay Bontrager 05/24/92, Garry Lee Maier 10/12/91, Garry Lee Maier 07/06/91, Garry Lee Maier 05/26/91, Garry Lee Maier 10/14/90, Jim Selenke 10/06/90, Jon Johnson 07/03/90, Garry Lee Maier 06/24/90

Total: Garry Lee Maier (13), Mike Peters (6), Danny Lasoski, Jason Johnson, Clay Bontrager, Mike Chadd, Andy Shouse, Steve King (2), Jason Martin, Jeremey Campbell, Jack Dover, Jon Johnson, Jim Selenke, Scott Brown, Larry Neighbors, Kirby Hagens, John Blurton, Michael Woodruff, Danny Wood, Preston Peebles, J.D. Johnson, Tony Bruce, Jr., Derek Drown and Brian Brown (1).