Kuhn out duels Coons for Angell Park victory

From Bryan Gapinski

Sun Prairie, Wis., June 26—Brad Kuhn scored a thrilling victory capturing the 30-lap Stark Automotive Group/Mid-State Equipment Badger Midget Series event Sunday Night at Angell Park Speedway. Kuhn completed the event in 8 minutes and four seconds, besting the 40-year old track record set by Larry Rice on August 30, 1970, by over one minute.

Brandon Waelti set the pace at the start, closely followed by Kuhn and fast qualifier Jerry Coons Jr. Kuhn passed Waelti for the lead on Lap 5, with Coons following into second place. The pair quickly moved ahead of the field and began lapping slower cars on Lap 10. Kuhn continued his pace with Coons trailing by about one-two car lengths as the pair weaved through lapped traffic.

With ten laps remaining Kuhn held a car-length lead over Coons.The advantage remained the same with five laps remaining. On Lap 27 Kuhn passed two slower cars entering Turns 1-2, drifting high opening up the bottom lane for Coons to take the lead down the backstretch. Coons held a two-car length lead over Kuhn when his tire went flat entering Turn 3 one lap later giving Kuhn the lead.

Kuhn driving the RW Motorsports owned Beast/Fontana No. 17 finished 5.73 seconds ahead of Coons who finished the final circuit with a flat Right Rear Tire. Series points leader Bubba Altig, Scott Hatton and Matt Smith completed the top five. “Its great to win at Sun Prairie, it was great dicing with Jerry for so many laps” commented Kuhn.

Mike Hess scored a clean sweep winning the 10-lap Badger 600 Micro feature finishing ahead of Brandon Fickas, Preston Benisch,Chad Bogar and George Knudsen. Hess also captured the heat race for the division. An additional Badger event at Angell Park Speedway has been added to the schedule for Sunday July 24. The event will feature the Badger Midgets, Micros and Wisconsin Dirt Legends Car Series. Altig holds a 46-point lead over Hess heading into the July 1-2 event at Belle Claire Raceway (Belleville, Ill.).


30-lap Feature: 1. Brad Kuhn; 2. Jerry Coons Jr.; 3. Bubba Altig; 4. Scott Hatton; 5. Matt Smith; 6. Mike Hess; 7. Robbie Ray; 8. Daniel Robinson; 9. Cody Weisensel; 10. Kurt Mayhew; 11. Eric Johnson; 12. Courtney Erfurth; 13. Brandon Waelti; 14. David Budres; 15. Bryon Walters. 8:04.85 (NTR) (Old record Larry Rice 8/30/70 at: 9:11.56).

10-lap Heat Race Winners: Smith, Coons.

Fast Time: Coons, 15.238 seconds.

Cars Present: 15

Feature Lap Leaders: Waelti 1-5, Kuhn 6-27, Coons 28, Kuhn 29-30

Badger Points: 1. Bubba Altig 271; 2. Mike Hess 225; 3. Matt Smith 200; 4. Scott Hatton 183; 5. Robbie Ray 170; 6. Brandon Waelti 150; 7. Daniel Robinson 150; 8. Cody Weisensel 138; 9. David Budres 128; 10. Bryon Walters 113.