Henderson Gets Rahmer For Port Speedweek

Port Royal Speedway Logo

By Shawn Brouse

Port Royal – Justin Henderson drove by Fred Rahmer with 10 laps to go to win the PA Speedweek feature for sprint cars at Port Royal Speedway Saturday night.

It was the second win of the season for the Sioux Falls, South Dakota, driver at the oval this season, worth $5,000.

In AB Auto Glass late model action, Thompsontown’s Gary Beward wired the field for his third 20-lap feature win of the Port season.

Henderson started the Sorokach No. 35 in the second position for the Aumiller’s Insurance sprint cars speedweek main but watched as Rahmer took control at the drop of the green.

During the early going, Rahmer pulled out to a comfortable advantage over Henderson with Daryn Pittman racing fourth but while the non-stop pace through the first 24 laps quickened, Henderson began inching closer to Rahmer’s red racer.

The leaders entered the rear of the field with 11 laps completed and it took Henderson nine more laps in traffic to finally snare the lead with a move out of the fourth corner after dropping off the cushion to run past Rahmer on the inside.

Henderson was saw Pittman move into second on the scoreboard with seven laps left, just before the races only caution flag unfurled with six laps to go for a flat tire on the machine of Sam Hafertepe Jr.

Pittman did take a look to Henderson’s inside when green replaced the yellow but the final three miles was all Henderson.

“Thank God for sprint cars, that’s all I can say,” exclaimed Henderson after standing on top of this fuel cell and pounding furiously on his top wing in jubilation.

“I don’t know if we ran him (Rahmer) down or if he came to us. I found that run off of the cushion by accident earlier and figured I better keep it for when I needed it.”

Pittman was second followed by Rahmer, Lance Dewease and Doug Esh.

Sixth through 10th went to Greg Hodnett, Stevie Smith, Chad Layton, Danny Dietrich and Tyler Walker.

Heats for the 32 car field went to Rick Lafferty, Dietrich, Kevin Nouse and Hodnett with Todd Shaffer scoring the B Main.

Rahmer set quick time in qualifications with a lap of 16.305 seconds.

Beward was never heeded on his way to the late model victory after starting ton the pole of the event.

He was trailed early by Bob Dunn before mechanical ills saw Dunn drop out at the halfway point, surrendering second to Mike Lupfer who would finish in the spot.

Ninth starter Scott Haus was third followed by Mitch Hack and Waylon Wagner.

Sixth through 10th went to Chris Shuey, Sam Schaffer, Mike Hess, Scott Flickinger and Bryon Sipe.

Twin heats went to Beward and Lupfer.

Feature Finishes: July 2, 2011 –

410 sprints, 30 laps: 1. Justin Henderson, 2. Daryn Pittman, 3. Fred Rahmer, 4. Lance Dewease, 5. Doug Esh, 6. Greg Hodnett, 7. Stevie Smith, 8. Chad Layton, 9. Danny Dietrich, 10. Tyler Walker, 11. Mark Smith, 12. Jason Johnson, 13. Mike Erdley, 14. Keith Kauffman, 15. Adam Wilt, 16. Todd Shaffer, 17. Brian Montieth, 18. Brent Marks, 19. Cliff Brian, 20. Mike Wagner, 21. Nicole Bower, 22. Sam Hafertepe Jr., 23. Kevin Nouse, 24. Rick Lafferty