Monster Energy™ Sprint Series Heads to Lincoln Friday Night!


From Bill W.

July 6, 2011 – The Monster Energy™ Sprint Car Series heads to the Lincoln Speedway in Lincoln, Illinois this Friday night. It will mark the first appearance for the series presented by the Midwest Open Wheel Association at the ¼-mile bullring.

The drivers and fans of the series are champing at the bit, as last weekend’s scheduled event at the Jacksonville Speedway was canceled due to the city’s water conservation efforts.

This Friday’s event marks the final preparation for the series’ First Annual Illinois Speedweek featuring five races in five nights at five different tracks! The Speedweek begins Wednesday, July 27 at the Spoon River Speedway, shifts to the Tri-City Speedway on Thursday, moves to the Jacksonville Speedway on Friday, to the Macon Speedway on Saturday and finishes at Shepp’s Speedway that Sunday.

Joey Montgomery emerged victorious in the season’s last event on June 18, recording his first win with the series at the St. Francois County Raceway near Farmington, Missouri. In three full events this season, two drivers from Missouri and one from Iowa have taken top honors. The Illinois contingent hopes to claim one of their own as the series visits Lincoln on Friday.

Gates open at 3:00 p.m. on Friday with hot laps scheduled for 6:30 and racing to follow! Grandstand seats are $15. The track is located at the Logan County Fairgrounds on 11th and Jefferson Streets.

To check out more information on upcoming events, Rules and Procedures, Drivers, Schedules, Points, Updates and More for the Monster Energy Sprint Car Series presented by the Midwest Open Wheel Association, visit the series’ website at!

See the Promotional Video for Lincoln!

The link….

2011 Monster Energy™ Sprint Car Series Tentative Schedule

Saturday, April 23 – 34 Raceway – $2,500 to win (Danny Lasoski, Dover, MO)

Friday, May 20 – Jacksonville Speedway – $2,500 to win (Terry McCarl, Altoona, IA)

Friday, May 27 – Fayette County Speedway (Feature Postponed)

Saturday, June 18 – St. Francois County Raceway (Joey Montgomery, Farmington, MO)

Friday, July 1 – Jacksonville Speedway – $2,500 to win Leon Smith Memorial (Flooding)

Friday, July 8 – Lincoln Speedway (Lincoln, IL)

Wednesday, July 27 – Spoon River Speedway (Canton, IL)

Thursday, July 28 – Tri-City Speedway – $2,000 to win (Granite City, IL)

Friday, July 29 – Jacksonville Speedway (Jacksonville, IL)

Saturday, July 30 – Macon Speedway (Macon, IL)

Sunday, July 31 – Shepp’s Speedway (Alexander, IL)

Friday, August 19 – Jacksonville Speedway (Jacksonville, IL)

Friday, September 2 – Lincoln Speedway (Lincoln, IL)

Sunday, September 11 – Peoria Speedway (Peoria, IL)

Saturday, September 17 – Spoon River Speedway – Tom Knowles Memorial (Canton, IL)

Saturday, September 24 – 34 Raceway – $4,000 to win (West Burlington, IA)

Sunday, September 25 – LaSalle Speedway – co-sanctioned with IRA (LaSalle, IL)

Friday, September 30 – Jacksonville Speedway – Season Championship (Jacksonville, IL)