NCRA Sprint Car Division Ready for Mid-Nebraska Showdown This Saturday Night!

2011 NCRA National Championship Racing Association logo

By David Smith Jr.

– Park City, Kansas – August 15, 2011 – Who will it be this race?

The 2011 race season on the National Championship Racing Association of Park City, Kansas presented by Smiley’s Racing Products sprint car tour has produced eight different feature winners in the nine events that have been held thus far this season. And with the tours past history atop Mid-Nebraska Speedway in Doniphan, Nebraska, this coming Saturday nights event could very well produce yet another new face in victory lane.

And while we ponder “who will win this weekend” there is also a tight battle for the 2011 series championship that also requires attention.

C.J. Johnson of Quinter, Kansas is on a quest for his second career NCRA sprint car championship. And despite being shut out of victory lane thus far this season, the second generation sprint car pilot sits atop the point standings by just 85 points over former five-time series champion Garry Lee Maier of Dodge City, Kansas.

With five point races left on the season, it isn’t too late for former series champion Mike Peters of Wichita, Kansas to throw his Hoosier right rear into the battle as he sits 210 points out of the lead while the tours most recent feature winner, this coming at the Great American Dirt Track in Jetmore, Kansas, sits fourth in the point standings 230 points out of the lead.

Patrick Stasa of Kingman, Kansas has a stranglehold on the fifth position in the point standings with Luke Cranston of Plains, Kansas currently in the sixth position in points. Defending series champion Jeremy Campbell of Wichita is seventh in the point standings while Taylor Velasquez, Jon Freeman and Jeff Stasa round out the top ten.

Current series rookie of the year contender Kris Miller of Arnett, Oklahoma, has all but wrapped up rookie of the year honors with the series and sits eleventh in the points.

As previously mentioned, the tour has only seen one repeat winner and that was former World of Outlaw sprint car driver Danny Lasoski of Dover, Missouri who has reached victory lane twice this year. Other drivers who have claimed series victories are Ryan Roberts, Jack Dover, Brady Bacon, Maier, Peters, Jordan Boston and Martin.

Seven NCRA sprint car events have been held at Mid-Nebraska Speedway and six different drivers have reached victory lane. Among the victorious include last year’s winner Chad Humston, Peters, Dover, Chuck Swenson, Jon Johnson and the only repeat winner, Maier.

Gates for the NCRA sprint car series first and only appearance for the 2011 race season will open at 5:00 PM with racing set for a 7:00 PM start time. General admission tickets are $16 in advance at all local O’Reilly Auto Parts and Pump and Pantry Stores or $18 at the gate. Kids ages six through twelve get in for just $5 while ages five and under will be admitted into the grandstands for free. Pit passes are just $25.

Mid-Nebraska Speedway is located off of I-80 at exit 314 and two miles south on old Hwy 281. For more race or ticket information contact the office (308) 381-0088 or the track (402) 845-2988.

For more information on the 41st anniversary season for the National Championship Racing Association of Park City, Kansas presented by Smiley’s Racing Products, find them at their new online address or call the series office (316) 755-1781.

The series would like to take this time to thank their sprint car partners and sponsors for the 2011 race season:

Park City, Kansas, Smiley’s Racing Products, Hoosier Racing Tires, Sunoco Race Fuels

Contingency Sponsors: Saldana Racing Products, The Brake Man

Past NCRA Sprint Car Feature Winners at Mid-Nebraska Speedway:

08/21/10 Chad Humston, 08/22/09 Mike Peters, 08/23/08 Jack Dover, 08/25/07 Garry Lee Maier, 08/24/06 Chuck Swenson, 09/10/05 Garry Lee Maier, 07/19/97 Jon Johnson